Celebrating Women for the Real World



Some Things Don’t Come Easy

Things change.  I get that.  I don’t handle change well, but I get it.

Actually, I take that back.  I can handle BIG changes.  Say someone gets really sick and there are life changing effects.  I can work with that.  Or, let’s say we have to move.  Not a problem.

Now, let’s say that someone suggest that I change the time my alarm goes off.  My alarm goes off each weekday at 4:30.  I hit snooze a few times, but always drag myself out of bed and hit the shower by 4:45 or so.  This has been the schedule since my kids were small.  My oldest is now 21-that’s a long habit.  I did this to have some “me” time before my day got started.  When I went back to work, waking up this early gave me an opportunity to get myself ready, a few chores done, and send kids off to school with a hot breakfast.  Guess what.  I only have one kid left at home…..and he’s 16!  He drives.  Half the time he doesn’t want breakfast.  Why then can I not set my alarm to go off at say 5:30?  Because I feel like the world would fall from it’s axis and life as we know it will cease!

Another thing that I can’t change?  My alarm clock is 30 minutes fast.  It’s been that way since I was in high school.  It started with 10 minutes and worked it’s way to 30.  Why?  I have to trick myself to get out of bed.  If I open an eye and see 5:01 I’m all “wow, I’m late!”  To add to that, it isn’t always exactly 30 minutes.  Sometimes its 28, 31, 29, etc.  Again, why?  That way I won’t justify a few more hits of the snooze key by thinking “Well, it’s actually only 4:30.  I can sleep a few more mins.”

Why am I boring you with this?  I don’t know.  Maybe because you keep coming back!  What?  It’s not me, it’s you!  You read all the way to this point, you can’t blame me!

I’m boring you with this because I kind of feel that if I write that I’m going to change I will then be accountable.  So here you go.  In black and white I hereby state that I will set my alarm clock to reflect the right time AND I will set it to go off at 5….eventually.  OK!  By the end of the week.  But I will warn you, if I’m late one time, you will never hear the end of it!


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    I’m sorry, what is this ‘4:30’ you speak of? People really get up that early????? 😉

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 1 month ago


Leave a comment