Celebrating Women for the Real World



Day Off Please

How and when did it happen?  I’ve over-committed myself……AGAIN!

When my children were little, I volunteered for EVERYTHING!  PTO, fundraiser, girl scouts, boy scouts, team mom for baseball, soccer, and football, etc., etc. 

As the kids got older and made it clear that I was an embarrassment  really didn’t have to do so much for them, it was the permission I needed to back off.  I was all like “Perfect because I don’t want to volunteer anymore so nanny, nanny, boo, boo!”  (Yeah, of course I took it as a blow to my self esteem, but I couldn’t let them know that.)

I then went in the complete reverse direction and didn’t even volunteer for anything.  What a difference.  Of course THAT didn’t last long.  With me being me, I couldn’t stand to be idle.  I started small.  An event here, a fundraiser there, a party now and then, nothing much.  Somehow before I realized what was happening I’ve suddenly booked myself silly! 

I took one of those personality test things (see below) and it was fairly accurate.  Up to and including this little character flaw trait.  Very interesting!

And what does this have to do with anything?  Absolutely nothing.  Nothing other than I’m tired and don’t feel like doing anything more than sleeping!  But I can’t!  Why?  Cause I’ve booked myself silly!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    As much as I enjoy my downtime and lazy weekends, I’ve found that it’s just as much fun to be really busy… I guess as long as all the things you’ve committed yourself to are fun or for a good cause that makes you feel good, it’s not such a bad thing? 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

