Celebrating Women for the Real World



Who? Me? Really?

My goal is to blog regularly, like back in the old days.  Yeah, don’t hold your breath. 

I haven’t been blogging regularly for many reasons, one of which is a time issue, another is due to this sudden urge to be very private.  I know?  Right?  Me? Private?  Ha!  I’m a freakin open book!

In my attempt to bore you, blog regularly, I am just going to share random thoughts and things that come up.  Lucky you!

Today’s rambling – My ministry profile.  I know! Crazy, huh?  I’m actually getting involved in a church because I found a church that I love that isn’t a church of condemnation.  Don’t worry, I’m not going to turn all preachy. 

Anyway, I feel that if a church is going to help me, I should give back.  I don’t know if it’s because I’m getting older and stuff, (let’s just say wiser, K?), but instead of just jumping into something that may or may not be right for me, I decided to take this seminar (for lack of a better word), that helps you identify your gifts so you can volunteer by doing something that suits your personality.

I knew I was bossy a leader, and I knew that I was hospitable, and organized and all that crap, (and elegant with my writing and grammar too, yes?) but I was surprised that my biggest strength was mercy.  Here is the description:

Christians with the Gift of Showing Mercy demonstrates genuine sensitivity to suffering.  They are compelled to help people reduce pain.  They are concerned more with the person, than the reason for the suffering.  Focusing on the feelings of those who hurt, Showers of Mercy desire to minister by “being there” when people really need them.  sympathizing and/or empathizing are their specialties.  While others may care more about why, what, when or how, those with the Showing Mercy are interested in “who” needs tender loving care.

To Summarize:  Caring

Overuse:  Too sensitive

Goal:  Wise insights, not foolish responses

I agree to a certain extent.  When someone is hurting, I hurt.  I don’t even have to know the person.  If I think they are hurting or in need of something, I feel the urge to help.  I would say I put the person first, but, and maybe this comes with motherhood, I also care about the when, what, why and how.  If you don’t fix the when, what, why and how, the person will never stop hurting. 

I do agree that I’m overly sensitive.  I hope I come across as caring.  Wise insights?  The jury is still out on that one.

What do you lucky peeps who know me or who have read the blog and think you know me think? 

BTW-I think last week was national “de-lurking week” or something like that.  If you are a lurker, feel free to leave a comment.  Well, unless it’s creepy.  Then you really don’t have to!

Peace!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    I think that fits you. Not only are you a good listener and a compassionate person, but you are also very patient. Not to mention you also know how to be firm and hold your ground when the situation calls for it. I think you would excel in any volunteer position that requires those strengths, be it something like working with underprivileged children, hospital bound children, abused women, pregnant teens, recovering addicts, etc.

    If nothing at first seems like a good fit to you because you doubt yourself, try looking at it from the angle of what obstacles in your life you have personally overcome, whether you think you did so gracefully or not. I can instantly think of a few. 🙂 Much like with some of the things I’ve gone through, I often ponder if since He helped me through them whether I acknowledged it or recognized it at the time, that God wants me to give back what I learned to those going through similar things, if that makes sense to you.

    You have the gift of empathy, so try placing yourself in situations where you might be able to relate to what the person is going through. I think you might surprise yourself with just how much insight and guidance you can provide.

    Also, even if you jump into helping one cause and find it’s not a good fit for you, don’t beat yourself up about it, just try a different one. The point is that you ARE helping. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

