Celebrating Women for the Real World



2010

Let’s see.  I’d say we’re off with a bang!

12/30 – My son totalled his truck.  His truck that was just repaired from the last wreck on 12/10.  Good news – this one wasn’t his fault.  Bad news – the other driver had no insurance.  The best news – he wasn’t hurt.  The other driver was going the wrong way in traffic. 

1/1 – My daughter got married.  Yes, you heard me.  MARRIED!  It was awesome.  I love my son-in-law.

1/2 – After a sleepless night due to one dog whining all night, I took the dog to the vet.  $247 later, he was sent home with an ear infection in each ear and a bunch of medicine that I get to give him daily for 14 days (giving the dog an ear bath, ear drops and a huge pill daily = fun times).  The good news?  He’s much better now!  I love that dog!

1/3 – I woke up coughing my head off.  Every time I coughed, it felt like knives were going through my chest.  The good news?  The Walgreens near my house has a Take Care Clinic.  My insurance covered my visit.  I was seen on a Sunday for $20 and was able to start meds!  The best part?  I sat on my butt all day.  Priceless!

Today I took my car to the tire place.  I had ANOTHER nail in my tire.  Of course if was in a spot that can’t be patched.  I had to buy a new tire.  The cost?  $120.  The best part?  It would have been $200 had I not had road hazard insurance.

The moral of this story?  For every bad there is some good.  Look for it!  Sometimes things don’t happen how or when we want them to happen.  Not to get all preachy, but take my son’s accident for instance.  I believe in God.  I don’t think my children would have made it through infancy had there not been a God.  They certainly wouldn’t have made it through their teens!  Anyway, I was praying about New Year’s Eve.  I can’t control what my adult son does.  I can pray.  Maybe this was God’s way of protecting my son from himself or someone else that may be doing something stupid.  Maybe it’s God’s way of getting his attention. 

Anyway, back on track (squirrel)!  I mainly wanted to wish you all a Happy New Year and encourage you to always look for a positive in every situation!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    I agree, when you look for it, you can find the good, even in the bad. I give you my house as exhibit ‘A’. 😉

    YAY for J & Z!!!!! SO HAPPY FOR THEM!

    Happy New Year my dear! 🙂

    – as a side note, I would like to point out that the title of this blog is ‘Celebrating Women’ as in more than one. While you know I love reading all your posts, you might want to kick that other lady in the butt and remind her of her duty to post… it IS a new year after all!

    Smooches! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Jill says:

    Wow! You have started out with a bang. God was definitely placing his hand on your son.
    Congrats on the SIL.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

