Celebrating Women for the Real World



It’s Been A Day Thus Far

Since both people who read this blog are intent on me posting regularly, I will give you a little easy reading.  I’m quite intrigued that people find the boringness of my life interesting enough to come back.

Recently there seems to be this sort of ritual in my house.  Every morning I wake up and think I know what I’m going to wear.  In my head my outfit is total awesomeness.  I drag my feet while pouring coffee down my throat all the while thinking “no problem, I know what I’m wearing.”

We all know what comes next, don’t we?  Well, if my floor, closet, bathroom, and dressing area are any indication, we’ll suffice it to say, it’s not pretty.

It all started with this brown sweater.  It’s a cute brown sweater that I bought the day after Thanksgiving while Christmas shopping.  Shut it.  I had to have it.  I live in Texas.  When you find something that is cute, not summer like, but not “Nanook of the North” like, and it’s in the JR’s department, and it FITS, and you have a 25% off your ENTIRE purchase, you buy it!

Still not following?  The thinking outlined above?  My husband calls that “Sheri Thinking”.  Nough said!

I bought the sweater because, well, I already said why, but mainly because I have a cute brown pair of pants, a cute skirt that has some brown in it, a slamming pair of brown boots, and I’m sure if I looked hard enough, I could find my leopard print scarf that would pull everything together.  Logical, yes?  I thought so too until I got dressed and looked in the mirror.  Do you know how many shades of brown I own?  MANY.  Now, ask me how what I have matches the sweater?  You got it, NONE!  When I looked in the mirror today, I looked like a gingerbread man!  I kid you not.  And what’s worse?  My husband was going to let me walk out the door looking like that!  Thank goodness for my brutally honest 16 year old.  When he asked “you aren’t really going out looking like that, are you?”  I knew things needed to change…..and fast! 

I did find a skirt that matches the sweater (cause we all know I now HAVE to wear the sweater) and a necklace that rocks; but, in my haste I grabbed hose that have a run and shoes that are too big.  I feel like my polish grandmother as I clop through the office.

Now, if my day would have stopped there, I’d be OK.  Did it?  Hell to the No.  I get to work.  I’m early.  Things are good.  I set my coffee down, go to turn on the radio, and boom, I knock the hot, black coffee all over my desk, my leg, the floor, everywhere!  I was lucky enough to miss my computer, the Blackberry, and my Coach bag! 

Hey, I guess it wasn’t as bad as it could have.  I mean really, I saved the Coach!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    Hahahaha – that is exactly why all my work clothes are like grr-animals for adults – all my pants and tops are interchangeable and match each other and my shoes are also easily interchangeable. The rest of my wardrobe, well that’s where I run into the same problem you had, but at least for work I can sleep an extra 10 minutes knowing I don’t have to stress about it. 🙂

    The logic behind purchasing the sweater makes perfect sense to me. 🙂

    I’ve accepted the fact that I cannot get through my day without spilling coffee on myself, my desk, my clothes or the floor every morning. It’s even become an office joke. Sigh. 😛

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Jacko says:

    Nexus One – Google competes with Apple iPhone That’s letter-perfect, homos — We are passing you bozos the full account on all nook and cranny of the NEXUS ONE. In case you’ve been under a rock, here’s the breakdown of the phone. The HTC-built device runs Android 2.1 atop a 1GHz Snapdragon CPU, a 3.7-inch, 480 x 800 display, owns 512MB of ROM, 512MB of RAM, and a 4GB microSD card (expansive to 32GB). The phone is a T-Mobile device ( implying no 3G if you want to remove it to AT

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

