Celebrating Women for the Real World



“Skinny Bitchin”

I’m reading this “book”.  It’s really a journal.  Why?  Well when you see the words “A Get off you Ass Journal to Help You Change Your Life, Achieve Your Goals and Rock Your World!”; wouldn’t you read it too?

I’ve had it for a seven a few months and just got past the introduction.  Yeah, the first task had to do with relationships.  With this book, you don’t just read a bunch of “feel good” shit, there is space for you to write what you need to change, or what you could have done differently.  Then I think you’re supposed to act on it or something. 

Look, let me be honest.  I’m not good at facing reality.  I run from anything that screams conflict.  Don’t believe me?  Then why did I run from PA to TX at 18 with no place to stay and only 3 boxes of my worldly belongings?  I’ll tell you why, because my family is (was) bat shit crazy!  At the time I didn’t realize that just about EVERYONE’s family is crazy and the only dysfunctional family would be one that claims to be completely normal and, well, functional!

Anyhow, I picked the journal back up because maybe at 41 I should perhaps grow up.  No?

Don’t answer that!

So I picked it up yesterday and the 2nd page says “Know this and be okay with it:  NOT EVERYONE IS GOING TO LIKE YOU!”

Crap.  There goes any other delusion I may have.  Guess what?  I’m not good with people not liking me.  That’s why, if you look up the words enabler, people pleas-er, and the likes, my picture may be right there as a shining example of such phrases. 

Why am I boring you with all of this?

Simple, I am looking for ideas and suggestions to  deal with my little problem.  How does one simple become “okay” with the fact that not everyone will like them?

Come on friends, anty up.  Ideas?  Suggestions?  Lay em on me!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * SuZan says:

    Well girl just think of it this way: Do you like everyone? You who are one of the most easy going people I know, who always looks for the good in others, don’t like EVERYBODY…..right? (cough-cough-sneeze-sneeze).

    Given that, how could EVERYONE like you? and that is truly OK, because you probably wouldn’t want to associate with those who don’t like you.

    This is my WWSD for the day!

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  2. * christie says:

    I wish I had advice but I’ve never given a rats ass about what other people think.

    I mean if you keep pushing yourself to make everyone like you- you forget yourself- who you really are because you just become this morphed mesh of stuff you become to please others.

    How to accept that- I just don’t know. I wish I had steps for you to do…

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  3. * celebratingwomen says:

    I came up with this last night:

    “Embrace the best; fuck the rest!”

    This will become my motto!

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  4. * Anita says:

    lol! love that motto! my turning point was one time when i was telling a friend about how worried i was after a minor conflict i had with some one and she looked at me and said “do you seriously think that you are so special that “shelly” has given up one brain cell thinking about you since you left her house yesterday? if someone has the time to waste complaining or worrying that you failed to “please” them in some way they seriously lack a life!!!!”
    put your energy into surrounding yourself with people who love you and know how to show it…they won’t always do it perfect but they care enough to try.

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  5. * Kami says:

    I like you. That’s all that matters.

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago


Leave a Reply

