Celebrating Women for the Real World



A Huge Part of My Growing Up – Gone!

When I was little, I’d say six or so, I wasn’t allowed to stay up and watch TV, but my sister was.  Even then I didn’t take “no” as an appropriate answer.  I was such a rebel. I used to sneak out of bed and hide on the stairs at night to get a glimpse of Charlies Angels through the banister.   I also sported the Farah Feather!  She was a very beautiful woman.  RIP Farah.

I used to know how to work it, even when I was little.  My dad worked the 3-11 shift at the post office.  I wasn’t allowed to stay up and wait for him to come home.  I used to tell my mom to let me sleep on the sofa cause I wanted to wait for daddy to come home so he could carry me up to bed.  Dad told her to let me so that he could tuck me in and give me a final kiss.  I usually would wake up when he came home.  He would eat his supper and enjoy his two beer limit.    Everyone else was asleep.  That was our time.  I would sit with him and we would watch Johnny Carson.  Ed McMahon was my favorite part of the show.  RIP Ed.

When I was FINALLY allowed to watch MTV (or rather, when my mom figured out the fight was useless and gave in) Thriller was HUGE!  When I think MTV I think Michael Jackson.  I haven’t seen many videos since that time that were as brilliant as Thriller.  Michael Jackson – you were a bit wacko, but you were a brilliant artist.  RIP!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * christie says:

    yeah- it’s been weird…

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  2. * Kami says:

    I know; craziness.

    My friend and I were talking about MJ and his weirdness. Plastic surgery aside, I really think the Neverland thing, and the kids, and all that was because he never had a childhood.

    Who knows, but that was a HUGE loss.

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  3. * Jasmine says:

    Mkay! I love your site… it is pretty much structured ike mine. My BF and I write about, womanhood, and motherhood.
    Happy to have found you!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

