Celebrating Women for the Real World



A Little Controversy On This Fine Thursday

Here at Celebrating Women we try to steer clear of controversial posts and rarely post our opinion.  Today I decided to do a little of both (sorry Suz, I just had to).

Abortion.  Abortion is legal in our country.  I’m glad it’s legal.  I think a women should have the opportunity to make choices that will affect the rest of her life.  Because it’s legal, a woman has the opportunity to make that choice and get safe medical help needed. 

I have never had an abortion and I don’t think I’d be able to have one unless there were extreme circumstances.  But the fact that I have that choice is priceless.  I don’t condemn or blame anyone who has ever been faced with that situation.  I truly believe in the glass house theory and I certainly don’t live in one.

Here’s the thing.  A woman has a 13 year old son with cancer.  Cancer treatment is not 100% guaranteed.  She has chosen to try to treat her son with natural remedies.  You can read about it here.

Who am I to judge her?  Unfortunately, she is breaking the law because she fled after the court ordered her to treat her son.  I’ve been taught to obey the law of the land.  Do I agree with the order?  No.

Why?  They have taken the choice of the mother away.  If 13 years prior she would have chosen to terminate the life of that child, there wouldn’t have been an issue.  Let’s say she new through genetic testing that the child she was carrying would have cancer.  She could have totally made the choice to terminate.  Now all of a sudden, they are taking her CHOICE away.

If it were my child, I would do whatever was possible to keep that child alive.  But, do you think it’s contradictory for the same courts that ruled to give women a choice can rule to take that choice away?

Again, I don’t live in a glass house and I have no right to judge her or her decision.  But I really want to hear what others think and have to say about the issue. 

If you are going to comment, remember the rules of the sand box – no throwing sand.  If you don’t agree with me or someone’s comment, please don’t personally attack.  That’s wrong.  You can disagree with my opinion or the opinion of our commentors, and you can inteligently explain why you don’t agree, but if you personally attack or call names, you will be deleted. 

Carry on.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    Well, I think she is in the wrong. She is basing her claim on her religious beliefs even though her husband and the head of her church have said she should follow the court order and the husband wants treatment now. She exercised her right to choose by CHOOSING to have her child. Now that she has him in the world, she has the responsibility to take care of him and provide him with the care he needs. Otherwise, parents would be able to kill their children left and right when they suddenly become burdensome or problematic.

    What if her religious beliefs told her that to cure cancer, the boy should be starved until he is well and it wasn’t a matter of not getting life saving treatment, but that he was now grossly underweight? Would that give you pause to have a different opinion? Or if she believed in the very old technique of blood letting to get rid of the ‘demons’ causing sickness?

    Add on the fact that the child is illiterate and uneducated about what is going on with him and it’s even worse, he really doesn’t know what his choices are. Being 13, he’s not old enough to really know what is best for himself anyways, and he is looking to his parents to take care of him. By not getting treatment that will save him, she is killing him – that is called murder. Pro-choice doesn’t go into the 52nd trimester… 🙂

    Just my two cents. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Kat says:

    And just to help make my point… read this story that is similar and then tell me what you think. 🙂

    http://www.wyff4.com/cnn-news/19526636/detail.html

    It’s the mom’s choice again… 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Tammy says:

    Well, breaking all of the sandbox rules, I think Kat is a liar. And ugly. And not funny.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  4. * celebratingwomen says:

    Well, the 2nd story to me seems more like neglect. But I see your point.

    I guess I’m really torn regarding the cancer patient. I’ve seen someone suffer through treatment. It would be incredibly difficult to watch my child suffer through, but I would do it.

    I think I’d feel diferently if the doctors said “we can treat the child like this and it is guaranteed to work.”

    But, as usual Kat, your points are very valid. If we say her “religious” beliefs are hers and then someone else comes along and has beliefs that I don’t agree with, then all of a sudden I take the court’s side.

    Kat, you are quite the wise one!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  5. Wow babe, you’ve stepped in it now. 🙂 You know what I think so I’m not going to weigh in here, at least not too much. I believe that providing medical care is the same as providing food and shelter for our kids. We may have personal beliefs about how that should be done but we are still subject to pertinent laws that affect what is acceptable or not.

    It’s important to realize too that according to news reports his cancer is 90% curable, at least treated in time. That may not happen when they eventually find them. I think it’s also important to understand that the boy’s father wishes to have the treatment done as he wants to do anything he possibly can to save his son.

    Treatment = chance of living
    No treatment = death

    That’s pretty simple math to me.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  6. * celebratingwomen says:

    Oh Tammy, since you’re so smart and pretty, I won’t delete you!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  7. * celebratingwomen says:

    Honey, yes, the math is simple. YES< I step in it on a regular basis. So glad you still love me.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  8. * Aimee says:

    One of my BFF’s, Sarah, in high school was a diabetic. We never knew she was a diabetic. It was something that her family kept secret. After 12 years of her parents trying to “manage” her diabetes with nutrition (she ate whatever she wanted to out of the cafeteria at school) and prayer and refusing to let her have insulin…

    One evening she was playing Volleyball at church, running after a ball she wasn’t really paying attention and ran right into the volleyball pole. Her right eye started hemorrhaging. Her parents took her to a nutritionalist who put her one some freaky diet of 90 second boiled eggs, pasta and fruit and told her not to leave the house for 6 weeks.

    After that she returned to HBU and a few months later, one day sitting in class, both eyes started hemorrhaging. They took her back to the same quack doctor who put her on the same freaky diet again and to stay in the house for the next 6 weeks. This was in Spring of 1993. She never left the house again.

    She lost all of her eyesight except for a pinhole sized dot in front of her (tunnel vision). Her long pretty hair looked like the consistency of cotton candy and actually turned a pink hue.

    On Halloween 1995 she fell into a diabetic coma from which they finally decided to actually take her to a real doctor/hospital and she passed away 9 days later.

    Only in the Houston Chronicle are the obituaries on the back side of the sports section. 4 guys I went to high school with shared an apartment at Texas A&M. One of the guys was reading the sports section and Brandon looked up and saw Sarah’s picture on the back of the paper. He called me and I called the few people from school I knew hot to get in touch with, 3 years after graduation.

    Her parents adopted to boys from Russia during the Fall of 1997. I think the oldest should probably be in college by now and the younger one is probably a senior in high school.

    I never understood why they never let her spend one single night alone. The only choir trip Sarah went on was the cruise to the Bahamas my senior year, they went as chaperone’s. They didn’t let her go on our senior trip. They went to Waco for TAPPS Choir Competitions every year (my parents did too, but my grandparents lived in Waco and it was an excuse to visit). They would invite Sarah’s friends along on their vacations so it wouldn’t seem so weird. I went with them to New Braunsfels one year.

    Yes, her parents were nut-balls (I like that word). According to her mother, chicken caused cancer and sweet n low caused strokes…. oh, and I was going to “die early” because I ate my steaks Medium Rare. They went to Evangelistic Temple. There were a couple other of my high school classmates students who went there.

    This other girl went to ET too. Her mom shared car pool with my mom before I had my drivers license. She would pray every day on the way to school with her eyes CLOSED WHILE DRIVING (commute was from 610/Wallisville to 290/Mangum area).

    I was chewed out for not having “faith” one morning when I screamed because she almost hit someone. She also refused to wear seat belts or to put her 2 year old in a car seat because “he was going to be a preacher and God wouldn’t let anything happen to him”. She also used to stand on the street corner of our neighborhood over in North Shore preaching that she could heal people.

    It is such a sad story. Sarah was so beautiful and such a sweet heart. She was one of my best friends and I miss her.

    This isn’t exactly the same as the current story, or the horribleness of cancer treatments. Sarah’s treatment was something as simple as insulin, but they denied her that choice. She was raised in that type of “religion” her entire life so I believe she was brainwashed to go along with her parents in this endeavor.

    Just a simple finger prick and a shot of insulin per day, and she would still be here.

    It just makes me sick.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  9. * celebratingwomen says:

    But, is this about religion or the parents choice of medical treatment for the child?

    I like the word “nut-ball” as well!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Kamster says:

    Oooooh, yeah, you have stepping in it.

    Here’s my thinking… When a woman chooses to have an abortion, it’s a fetus – not a 13-year-old, living, breathing person. Again, that’s just my opinion. (We could argue for days about when a person becomes a person, but a 13-year-old is damn sure a person.) And along those lines, it’s that argument people like to throw at pro-choicers, “Well, we don’t just kill our elderly when they can’t take care of themselves!”

    Duh. Our grandparents have been living, and with us for many years. A fetus is a fertilized egg. In fact, we women pass fertilized eggs some months without even knowing it.

    I think she’s wrong, too, because this kid is a person, who has had a life up to this point, for 13 years. He’s not a fetus.

    Does that make any sense?

    And I betcha the mother is not pro-choice.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  11. * Kamster says:

    Oh, and since the mother brought up religion, she made it about religion. Didn’t her God give doctors the brains they have that have given us the medical advancements we HAVE?

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  12. * Kamster says:

    “You have stepping in it.”

    LOVELY.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

