Celebrating Women for the Real World



What The Heck Does THAT Mean?

One of the partners at the law firm where I work invited my husband and I to a celebration of he and his wife’s 25th wedding anniversary.  He is my boss, but we also interact on a friendly level as my son and his were in the same classes at school and my son has stayed at his house. 

The event will be at a “nice” Italian restaurant near my house.  It’s nice, but not formal (not like Galleria area nice).  I asked what the dress will be.  His response?  “Business Casual”. 

What the heck does that mean?  I told him “you guys have it easy.”  In fact, I bet he and my husband end up wearing exactly the same thing but in a different color. 

I asked what his wife will be wearing to which he replied, “A dress.  In fact she went out and bought a new dress yesterday for the event.”

Well, that makes sense.  It’s her event and a celebration for her and her husband.

I don’t want to out-dress the hostess.  I don’t want to under-dress.  I was thinking maybe some new linen black Capri’s with a nice blouse accessorized with some jewelry and cute heals.  My second option is a sundress.  Not one that you’d wear to a picnic.  A little dressier.  Maybe with some kind of print going on.  Accessorize accordingly with jewelry and heals. 

Thoughts?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    I think both your suggestions would be fine. It figures you ask a man and he says ‘business casual’… sigh.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  2. * SuZan says:

    I like both of your choices, so I would have to say the one that is the most comfortable. Then doll up and enjoy the evening.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

