Celebrating Women for the Real World



Not In My Job Description

I love my job….I love my job….I love my job….

You can only imagine the stories that I have working home health.  I meet many different types of people, find different situations and holy cow the family dynamics are always interesting.  This story by far is the most bizarre.

One of my patients that lives about 2 miles from me in a nice subdivision that is fully developed.  He is a paraplegic and ripped his bicep that could not be repaired and his supraspinatus that was repaired.  So he is pretty dependent on others while we are rehabing his shoulder.

Anyway (stay with me now); we were working on sliding board transfers since he was just cleared last week for weight bearing to his repaired shoulder.  I go to the kitchen to get his sliding board and look down to pick it up, and what do I see?!?

snake

Yep…. A FRIGGIN’ SNAKE!  Friends, I just don’t do snakes but in reflexion, I am quite proud of myself that I did not yell “SNAKE”  at the top of my lungs and take off running through the house.

I calmly went and informed my patient that he had a snake in his house and asked him where his reacher was.  The snake was in his workout room where he has an exercise mat that is about 2 feet off the ground.  I’m standing on the mat fishing for this snake underneath and he just keeps slithering to another area (I’m sure I was an entertaining sight). I wasn’t able to grab the darn thing with the reacher, but we were able to coax it out into the back yard. 

Yes it was a grass snake but folks….I DON”T DO SNAKES!  It happened to be my last patient for the day, and I’m glad because I was pretty shaken up by it.  Snake wrangling is NOT in my job description.

Anyone think I could get some hazard pay for this?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * celebratingwomen says:

    I think you should get a freakin medal for the stuff you do! Me? I would have been running thru the house screaming like a girl!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Kat says:

    you lost me at supraspinatus… 🙂

    What is it with you ladies? Snakes, bats…. geez! 😛

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Jill says:

    OMG – I would have been freaking out! I am proud of you holding your composure.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Karen says:

    I’d have been out the door! Once in a while the husband finds a hognose snake or other harmless slitherers in the back yard. We are an old, well established neighbor, too. Maybe they want to take a dip in our swimming pool!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  5. * meg4fancast says:

    that is horrifying!!!! omg. you are a trooper.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

