Celebrating Women for the Real World



Just Call Me Crash

Yup. Again! I was driving down Eldridge toward 1960. This lady pulls out of the Walgreen’s parking lot. I slammed on my breaks, she swerved, I swerved, she hit me along the passenger’s side of my car. She then got out of the car and started yelling at me because “I hit her”. Excuse me? When exiting a parking lot, I believe the violation that caused the accident is “failure to yield right of way”? Yeah, I wrote my information on the back of my business card……for the law firm for which I work! Her tune changed. It also changed when I told her I had called the police and they were on the way. She was a little more frightened when I knew the officer (he serves papers for the firm). Guess what, she has no insurance. She said she did, but she lied. It was canceled a month ago.

This could have been really bad. It wasn’t. She hit my mirror. It still works. She scratched the paint down the side of the car…that can be buffed. I’m a little stiff most likely from tensing up. But considering what could have happened? I’m good!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * kate says:

    Atleast you were ok. That does stink though.

    Seems to be more and more uninsured people. It is ridiculous. They always seem to be the ones yelling after causing the accident.

    I like the lawyer business card…good move!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Kat says:

    Glad to hear you are okay! That totally sucks though! Good for you pulling the business card out and calling the cops! I can guar-an-freaking-tee you without a police report there’s no way you could get her to pay for damages… I might have learned the hard way back in college. 😛 haha

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * celebratingwomen says:

    She also seemed a bit nicer when your posse arrived to watch over.

    🙂

    So she lied eh? wow!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

