Celebrating Women for the Real World



I’m Not Disowned…..YET!

It seems that Sheri has been taking up a whole lot of slack for me since I have been MIA.  I’m currently going through several changes in life and have been a very bad blogger.  Thanks Sheri …..I owe you big time, but I’ll try and do better.

Some of you know that I have gone completely self employed since the end of May of last year.  Business has been crazy and I have found myself biting off a bit more than I can chew or leaving very little time for anything else.  My biggest problem is saying NO when I’m called to take a new patient.  I know that in business there are peaks and valleys, but I’m still waiting for a valley (I’m not bitching…this is a good problem).

When I started this venture, I calculated that if I could keep my patient load at 12 patients per week that I could produce a comparable income, pay my taxes and still be  a little ahead.  As it turns out, companies have been happy with my patient care, some patients that go back on service are requesting me and I have kept a patient load of about 16 to 20 patients a week (I’m tired…but again, It is a good problem to have).  All in all, I absolutely love my job and feel that I am using my skills to the fullest, unlike in the school district where I was limited to pediatrics and school based OT.

Since G2 is ready to move on to a University this fall, I have planned something very special for the both of us.  The deposit has been made so it is official, he and I are going to……………

We are going to spend a week in Greece this summer (G2 picked the destination).  It is perfect for both of us because we both love history and for a “sports fanatic” person like G2, of course it is the birthplace of the Olympics.  I need to bone up on my knowledge of Greek Mythology so that I have a better understanding of all the temples we will be visiting and no, we will not be taking Zeus on the trip (even though the pup would love it).

It is also time to do something for me.  I have spent many years putting my wants aside while we raise our son.  Even though this trip is a gift for him, very few have even a clue on how important it is to me.  It represents finding myself and learning other cultures and the people that keep their culture alive.

So for now I bid you Αντίο and I’ll be back soon!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sheri says:

    I never mind filling in. Of course, I’m always at a shortage for words (cough).

    I will be living vicariously through you while you’re on your trip!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Steve says:

    Wow congrats on the BOOMING business!! That is soooo awesome!! It does sound like a very nice problem to have! Saying no is difficult for sure and in a business environment it seems even harder because like you said there are peaks and valleys.

    As for the trip what a wonderful experience it will surely be! I know you must be very very proud!

    I’ll check in with you ladies tomorrow! Have a great great Monday!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  3. * qod says:

    I am so excited for you guys!!!!!

    Dude, send me the list of cities!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Tammy says:

    You are such a great OT, that everyone loves you!

    What a great trip you have planned. I’m so happy for you. You deserve it!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Tammy says:

    I commented here, but your blog ate it.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Tammy says:

    SEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  7. * celebratingwomen says:

    qod – Ha! I thought that said God. I was all “What? God commented on our blog?” Bwahahahahaha!

    Tammy – we have a very hungry blog!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  8. * Kat says:

    I’m so excited for you! Ya’ll are going to have a WONDERFUL time!!!!!! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  9. * Jill says:

    I am so happy for you – time to take charge and do what you want for a change! have fun! Congrats on the plethora of business.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

