Celebrating Women for the Real World



Nick Names

Isn’t it funny how nick names come about? For instance, growing up my mom used to call me “Sheri Berry”. Very cute. Loved that name. As I grew up, it changed to “Sher Bear”. In my teen years, it was shortened even further to “Bear”, or as one of my boyfriends used to call me, “Bare”. All forms of that name were appropriate and fitting based on the stage in my life (yes, including the last one. So proud!). Suz, see my obsession with Bears? And Strawberries? Makes sense now, doesn’t it?

My sister on the other hand had a few different nick names for me. Some I can’t mention, but for the most part, she called me “Buzzby”. I don’t know how, I don’t know why. Apparently my dad called me that once when I was little and it just stuck. Buzzby was shortened to Buzz, then became Fuzzby, and eventually Fuzz. Again, I don’t remember why, but I knew that when she called me by those names, good things ensued. That meant she was in her happy mood. She occasionally will still call me fuzz when she knows I’m angry or stressed and need a little cheering up.

My sister acquired the nick name De De. I apparently am the one who coined her as such. Her name is Diane. For short, Di would have been the usual nick name. The story goes that when I was a baby, I couldn’t say her whole name, but I could say D. Then De De. It stuck. She is still called De or De De to this day.

There are a few other names like cunt face for instance that just emerge. The person so dubbed is very deserving of this. When I saw her face, that was the first thing that came to my mind. I can rarely remember her real name, but cunt face is never forgotten. In fact, many of our friends said that was the perfect name and commonly refer to her as such.

How about you? Do you have a nick name? If so, how did it evolve?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Steve says:

    I worked as a sales rep for Pepsi Cola for 12 years and each time I’d call on ALL of my accounts they’d say hey Pepsi Man! For some reason it stuck even now as a driver. Yesterday I called the terminal manager and he even says “hows it going out there Pepsi Man”?

    I’ll leave the cunt face comments to myself LOL!

    Have an awesome Thursday!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Kami says:

    KamiCakes
    Kamster
    Trouble Maker (that’s my boss)
    Sweetheart

    Not Dutch. BWAHAHAHHAHAHAA.

    Cunt Face so works, but I told you what didn’t.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Tammy says:

    Hee-Hee. Ya’ll said Cunt Face. Love it.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  4. * SuZan says:

    HAHAHAHAHA….the comments are great! Let’s see; the nicknames I was given were: Suz, this is classic, my grandmother still calls me this. I did have the typical Suzi Q for years. In College because of the proper spelling of my name Su Zan, everyone started calling me Xanadu (oh yes…the 80’s in full force).

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Christie says:

    I have the obvious nick-names from family:

    Chris
    Krusty…

    Then Stephen calls me Whore. lmao….. he calls me that cause on our first date I was joking with him and told him I was a total slut. hahaa, so he calls me a whore lmao

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Kkuxfjya says:

    DKUt8s comment2 ,

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

