Celebrating Women for the Real World



It’s Friday Finale Time…And It’s Going To Be 83!

….as in degrees!  It’s going to be 83 degrees in Houston today!  That is abso-freakin-lutely fabulous!

Between the weather and the time change this weekend, my yard may actually get some attention.  I’m torn between wanting to hit the stores and get some clothes (and shoes of course) for spring or going to the flower shop and getting pretties for the yard.  I love playing in the dirt.  Well, that is until it reaches 114 degrees. Oh, and I don’t like bugs.  That makes my window of opportunity for dirt playing very small.

Let’s talk about the economy.  It sucks.  Thankfully my husband and I don’t do the credit card thing.  We pay cash for EVERYTHING and if we don’t have the cash, we don’t buy!  It’s a good thing.  A little frustrating at times, but I don’t have to cringe when I go to the mail box.  But I’m wondering, if the media wasn’t putting so much doom and gloom on the matter, would people be as afraid as they are?  Really, how many people have the money to spend but just aren’t spending because they are afraid of what they hear on the news?  That was definitely the case when we were in Vegas.  One of the hotel employees said that the older population that are fondly known as the regulars just aren’t coming to play because they are afraid to spend their money.  Hmmmmm.  May have to do some frivolous spending this weekend to stimulate the economy.  I think I can handle that!

What other mindless dribble can I share.  I know.  I’m sure you’ve heard that Barbara Bush had open heart surgery.  Her surgeon was my husbands surgeon in 2001 when he had bypass surgery.  I didn’t realize that “he is the best in his field.”  I knew he was good.  No wonder he looked at me cross eyed when I was quizzing him about my husband’s condition and the surgery.  See, everything happened for my husband on an emergency basis.  The ambulance, the doctors, everything.  I guess when I said “I want the best care and the best doctor that my insurance will afford”, they took me seriously.  However, no one ever said “Your surgeon will be Dr. Lawrie, best in this field and trained by Dr. Michael E. DeBakey.”  No wonder he looked at me funny when I wanted information.  It was 11:30 at night.  He had worked on my husband for 4 hours.  He was ready to go home.  I was all, “Excuse me, but I want details.  What happened during surgery?  What were his vitals?  Any complications?  How many transfusions?  What were his vitals in recovery?  How long will he be coma induced?  What’s the next step?  How many bags of antibiotics have you hung?  You do know what meds he’s allergic to, right?”

Let’s just say that after my hubs was no longer critical, he sent his associate to do rounds.  Every single time he came in the room, I had questions.  I guess he didn’t like that. 

However, I will agree that he is an awesome surgeon.  He saved my husband’s life.  Let’s just hope my husband decides to do what needs to be done to continue! 

On that note, I will say good bye.  Happy Friday!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tammy says:

    Sadly, I’m stuck in my office all day with the glorious weather going on outside.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Steve says:

    This is the reason I love my job so! It’s going to be 83 here today as well and I do not go back to work until Sunday evening! This will be a GREAT day to go have some lunch on a patio somewhere!! What I need to do pretty soon is make a road trip to Houston before it gets to hot. Maybe we can do lunch:-}

    As far as the economy I think a HUGE part of the problem is all the negative talk. If they cannot spin it in a bad way they have no idea what to say. I know with my job here in the Dallas area we hired people last month. Go figure.

    You guys have a wonderful weekend!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Kat says:

    Well, I for one have definitely done my part helping to stimulate the economy this week! 😛 I’m going to try to have a weekend where I spend no money… we’ll see how that goes. 😛 HAhahahaa

    Why is all the good weather always during the work week?

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  4. * SuZan says:

    Loved the weather today. On days like this I really love my job, on the road all day going from patient to patient.

    IT WAS GREAT!!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

