Celebrating Women for the Real World



We Are Feelin Fine In 2009!

OK, yes, that is a corny title.  But it rhymes.  Hey, don’t hate me cause you ain’t me.  Hate the game not the playa!

I can’t help it.  I’m on a roll.  Blame it on the coffee, K?  OK.  Now, onto what I really want to post.

It is a new year.  The new year is a great time to look back at what you did right and wrong as well as a good starting point to change the things you don’t like and start doing things you want or think you should be doing.  Not using long, run on sentences in the post should be a starting point, yes?

That being said, I’m way too lazy to look back at my post from last year and see what my goals were and tell you if I accomplished them or not.  I do remember that one goal was to lose weight and exercise more.  Check and check!  I will confess that seven pounds keep disappearing then reappearing and I didn’t exercise as often as I wanted to during December, but hey, December is over and January is here and today is a new day.  One thing that helped me with this challenge was this phrase – “Persistence, not perfection!”  This is true and applies to all areas of our life, not just weight loss.  The other thing that helped me was not looking at eating as cheating, but as a choice.  I will make a conscious decision to eat something or to not eat a certain food.  Whatever my choice, there will be consequences.  The consequence for eating something that’s high in calories and fat will either be more time at the gym, or weight gain. 

One thing that I didn’t accomplish that was on my list was to take up playing a musical instrument again.  I used to play cello, violin, and piano.  I played the flute for all of two weeks and decided I didn’t like it.  I played the other instruments from kindergarten through some point in high school.  I quit because, well, I caught that dreaded teenager disease.  You know the one, the one that makes you care about what other people think.  The disease that says “Hey, you can’t attract cute guys with a big instrument between your legs.”  Um, that just made me laugh!  I’m talking about the cello!  Gees!  Mind out of the gutter people!

Enough looking back.  It’s time to look forward.  I do have a list of things I’d like to change or accomplish.  As I keep rehashing the list I realize that almost everything on that list can be accomplished by conquering two major issues.  One issue – fear.  Fear of accomplishment, fear of someones reaction, fear of hurting someone by saying something that needs to be said, fear of failure.  So, conquering fear will be number one.

Number two – controlling my reaction!  We all no that every action creates a reaction.  I can’t control someones actions and I can’t control their reaction.  The only thing that I can control is MY actions and reaction.  So my second goal is to asses my actions before I do them and control my reactions to other’s actions.

Finally – money.  I can’t save a freakin dime!  Some expense always seems to pop up.  SuZan has taught us all very well.  She has taught us to have a goal and figure out what it takes to achieve that goal.  Well, a money tree springing up in my yard is not likely to happen so I have a plan.  I am going to change my direct deposit so that a portion of each check goes right into savings.  The other thing that I’m thinking about doing is the $5 thing.  Every time you pay with cash and you get a $5 bill as change, you take that bill and put it into a box.  You don’t spend it! 

There you have it!  My plan for the year!  How about you?  Any plans or goals?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheeky says:

    There is a little mantra that has been said around Chez Cheeky for years and years….Life is all about choices….and that is true whether if food, money, people…etc.

    So, while I am not making resolutions per se I am taking a good hard look at my choices and making ones that are much better for ME!

    Fear…….when dealing with my issues this year I had a friend recommend a book that really helped her and it has really helped me. It is, Face the Fear and do it Anyway. Just the title is empowering!

    So here’s to you!!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Tammy says:

    Your cello story remind me of “this one time, at band camp . . ”

    Sorry.

    I love that you put “don’t hate me cause you ain’t me.”

    As you know, I’ve never had a problem with hurting people’s feelings if I feel something needs to be said 🙂 I do have a problem with the way I react to things. I try to think that I control my own actions and no one can make me “feel” a certain way. But saying it, and doing it is 2 different things.

    I think I’m going to work on that.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Tammy says:

    My 2009 weight loss theory: Less input, more output.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Tammy says:

    Oh, and I totally used to play the piano and violin. Like you, I played them till I realized they weren’t cool.

    Being a teenager makes you so stupid.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Kat says:

    I was guilty of teenager disease making me stop playing the piano. Sigh.

    I plan to get back on track with taking care of myself. Eating right, getting to the gym, and eliminating some of my bad habits. Of course, being that I’m still worn out from the last two weeks of holiday partying, none of this takes effect until Monday after I’ve had the weekend to rest! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

