Celebrating Women for the Real World



Goodbye 2008…………..It’s been real!

As Sheri had posted, 2008 presented with it’s challenges and we managed to live through them.  She wanted us to post a list of the things that we are thankful for instead of focusing on the negative (this is so typical of her….gotta love the attitude).

So here are my positive reflections of 2008:

  • I have the best friends in the world!
  • I really like the man my son has become, he has helped me so much through the year and I am very thankful for him.
  • I ventured off on my own becoming 100% self employed.  Business has been more than I expected.
  • I have a new fence (because of Ike)
  • I have a new stove (because of Ike)
  • I now know where my future is heading so I am preparing for it.
  • I bought a new ride (Sheri says she smells a road trip in our future).
  • My cousin got engaged!
  • My pets have been a great source of affection and entertainment.

Sheri’s list:

  • No fair, she stole my first one.  I am also thankful that I have the best friend in the world.  The kind that you can call at 9:30 on a Sunday night and will meet you at ER when your husband has a stroke.  The kind that will bring you dinner when you come home from the hospital; the kind that will help you move when it’s 100 degrees in Houston; the kind that will be there for your kids and your kids know they can call (Michael told her he loved her)
  • I’m grateful that my daughter graduated from high school
  • I’m grateful that the two kids out of high school are on the right road to becoming responsible adults. 
  • I’m grateful that I don’t have to worry about going to the mailbox in January.  All Christmas was paid for in cash!  Love this!
  • I’m grateful for the two best bitches in the world who thew me a slammin 40th BDay party.  Girls – You have know idea how special you made me feel!
  • I’m grateful for this bad ass house that we found and the great peeps on the street in my new hood!
  • I’m grateful that, due to the stroke, my husband is taking better care of himself and taking his meds.  Honey – you know what that last thing is that needs to change!
  • I’m grateful that our needs are met!  Maybe not always when I think they should be, but they are!
  • I’m happy that I can accept who I am and be strong enough to change the things about myself that I don’t care for.

We are excited about 2009!  Many challenges ahead but as we meet each one head on, it offers rewards for our accomplishments.  Happy New Year Everyone!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    Excellent lists ladies!!!! Happy New Year!!! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Kami says:

    Yes, great list!!!

    I’m glad I have you guys!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Missy says:

    What a great way to end the year. I think I will copy this as a 2009 intro post.

    Have a very happy New Years celebration ladies!! 2009 is going to be awesome – perhaps we need another blowout – even if it is a mini one 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

