Celebrating Women for the Real World



Holy Guacamole!

This is a post with a compilation of things that will either make you laugh, say WTF, or Holy Guacamole (a phrase a picked up when my kids were still impressionable).

Funny:

Suz and  I talk everyday while I’m driving home from the office.  She apparently saw a patient later than usual yesterday so she was on her way home as well.  I look over, see a Cy-Fair Football sticker on the window of a car and think “Huh, I wonder if I know them.”  Then I say, “Huh, that car looks just like SuZan’s.”  Then I start laughing while talking to her and tell her to look to her right.  Yup, there I was!  So what do two girls do when they meet up on the street?  Yup, we went shopping!

WTF?:

Help me think this out.  OK, it’s 8 days before Christmas and two nights before the last day of school before Christmas break.  Let’s say that you are a manager at a store with a big red bulls eye.  Let’s say that weather wise – it was not snowing or freezing, conditions that keep most people in Houston off the streets.  Would YOU schedule more than three cashiers?  Yup, me too.  I told the manager that she needed to open more lanes or I was going to seriously consider leaving my basket and going to Wally World as they have ALL LANES OPENED.  I wasn’t buying anything there that I couldn’t have found at Wally.  She called all available associates to the front.  Then I think she spit in my bag.  I don’t know.

Holy Guacamole:

This could almost fall under WTF, but, since part of the problem was my lack of forethought, I can’t entirely blame a store that rhymes with Vest Buy. 

Here’s the deal – last year one of the boys wanted a hot item that was hard to find.  I went online to this store’s site.  They had ONE in stock.  I ordered it for customer pick-up.  I waited in line for about 30 minutes but hey, I didn’t have to sleep outside on the side walk and round house kick someone to get it, so 30 minutes?  Not so bad. 

This year there were various items wanted by various kids.  I was going to be out by that store so I ordered online.  When I got there three hours later, my order wasn’t ready.  Why?  They only have ONE person pulling items for in store pick-up.  One person, the week before Christmas.  I received notice that my three item order was ready……… about six hours later.  They told me they didn’t have the 4th item on the list.  I walked back and got it off the shelf. 

Anyway, that’s really not my point.  My point – I stood in line for 20 minutes the first time to be told it wasn’t ready.  The problem?  I was the first person in line.  The person at the counter was helping someone get financed.  That just doesn’t seem efficient.  Last night I went in to pick up my order.  I waited in line for 30 minutes.  I was the 2nd person in line.  Again, person at the counter getting financed and the people in line in front of me were exchanging something.  I stood there thinking “shit, between my two trips, I could have shopped for the items and paid for them”.  I guess I figure if you’re going to offer me special parking, then you should offer me a special lane designated for in-store p/up.  

See, I’m not really blaming the store because I really didn’t think about the few items being purchased and the fact that none of them were in demand.  I kind of figure it’s all about perspective.  First scenario – thirty minute wait and parking half a mile away?  No prob.  I was lucky to get the item.  Second scenario – none of the items were hot ticket and waiting in line 50 minutes (between the two trips) was much more of a hassle. 

I would like to think that this store reads my little blog and will say “what a mighty fine idea – special parking and a special line to make this deal a win, win!”  OK, maybe not a designated line all year, but around the holidays?

There you have it.  My, funny, WTF, Holy Guacamole post for the day.  And, yes, Holy and Guacamole must be capitalized; and I started this sentence with “AND”.  All English majors may through tomatoes at the screen!

LYMI!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * SuZan says:

    Girl I just get tired by reading everything you do!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Kat says:

    Hmm, if they don’t ‘throw’ tomoatoes, maybe they’ll ‘through’ something else… heehee

    I agree that there should be separate lines for in-store pick up and financing. It’s supposed to be more convenient after all.

    Too funny that ya’ll were driving side by side! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Meritt says:

    I had NO IDEA they even had “order online for customer pick up” that quickly! I figured if you ordered online for pick up you would come back like, in 4-5 days. LOL.

    Odd they would have someone doing a finance at the same desk/line as pick up. Very strange. Maybe the other person didn’t show up, called in sick or was helping in another part of the store….???

    But the whole “THREE LANES OPEN?” deal. OMG I just went through that at Michaels this week!!!! TWO LANES OPEN and I swear I’m not kidding when I tell you the lines were 1/2 way the through the STORE – and those are some BIG ASSED STORES!

    When I was 2 people back from the register the bit… err, I mean, ‘lady’ leaned over and scowling, informed me and the lady in front of me she was “CLOSING DOWN”.

    Yep.

    I had to move to another lane.

    Grrrr.

    ALMOST put my one little pillow case and spool of ribbon down and walked out but dude, I would just have to buy it elsewhere and had already spent about 25 minutes waiting in line.

    The guy in front of me went to pay for his cart full of things and the girl thanked him for coming and turned to help me.

    He looked at his pile of (HUGE PILE OF) things – probably 15 items and said, “Can I have a bag?”

    “Oh, we’re out of those.”

    He looked at his pile of things and just laughed.

    THANK GOODNESS I ONLY HAD TWO SMALL THINGS! There were ladies there with cart fulls and NO BAGS.

    Then I watched the supervisor of the front end get pissed because “It’s been like this all day!” and people were complaining she open more lanes. She opened 2 more and was NOT happy about it. Then another worker started yelling at the supervisor because she let the one chick close out and go home (who’s line I was originally in) and yet she couldn’t. She was SO MAD.

    BAD BAD BAD customer experiences going on. LOL.

    I got my stuff and got the heck out of dodge. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Jill says:

    Hey – maybe they did read your blog. I just went to the BB store and there WAS a dedicated line for .com pickups. There was a big handmade sign out of yellow poster board pointing to .com pickups only. This was NOT the one by our house but down 290 and hollister. I had to wait and still don’t know what for BUT the girl was nice AND she even asked if she could ring up my other items! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

