Celebrating Women for the Real World



It’s Friday and I Just Ate M & M’s

I suppose I should do a follow-up post to my “I Love Thursday” post.  You know, just in case someone stumbles in.  I’d hate for them to think we are slackers!  And the M&M’s?   Totally irrelevant to this post.  Well, other than maybe to serve as some sort of “food confession” or something.  You know, like maybe if I tell the entire internet that I at some M&M’s, the confession will cancel out the calories!

It’s Friday.  It’s cold.  The high today?  51!  Shut it!  That’s COLD! 

Weekend plans?  Trim bushes in front.  Go to cable store to get new DVR box.  Make a million trips back and forth to the storage unit for Christmas decorations.  Put up Christmas.

Weather forecast?  Cold and rainy!  Guess I won’t be cleaning out the garage!

Things to look forward to?  Next week is Thanksgiving.  One of my most FAVORITE holidays of the year.  Why?  FFOOOOOODDDDDD!!!!!!  I also look forward to visiting with family.  We were going to host Thanksgiving dinner at our house.  My mother-in-law was bamboozled talked into doing it at her house by my sister-in-law.  Husband?  Not very happy at the moment. 

I love my in-laws.  However, as with every family, there is always that ONE.  I’m not going to say much more than that because really, her heart is in the right place.  She’s not a bad person.  There are just “things” that make it so I can only tolerate her in small doses.  No what I mean? 

Granny (my mother-in-law) is the SWEETEST.PERSON.EVER!  I love her.  My father-in-law passed away 4 years ago and was buried the day before Thanksgiving.  This holiday is hard on her.  Plus, she’s 86 years old!  Since it’s at her house, she feels obligated to cook the majority of the meal.  She will wake at 4:00 in the morning to start.  Then she will fret about every blasted thing from the cost of the dinner to one of the great grandchildren spilling something.  Her house?  the whole house could fit into our living room and kitchen.  I’m not kidding.  So here will be the scenario:  12 adults, four children, a wheel chair, and a butt load of food…….in one room! 

Because of this and because I LOVE to cook Thanksgiving dinner, I will cook our small family our own dinner.  I’ll probably do it Wednesday!  If I do it Friday, most everyone is so tired of turkey, they don’t enjoy it.  But Wednesday!  Yum! 

Now for the part you’ve been waiting for….the end!  Congratulations for hanging in there and reading all of my pitiful dribble.  It always feels so much better to vent about the things that bother you.  When I went back and read my thoughts I felt like “wow, glad THAT’s off my chest.  Now I can focus on enjoying family.”

Also, I apologize for the excessive use of CAPITAL LETTERS and EXCLAMATION POINTS through out this post!!!!  It just felt so good, I couldn’t stop!

Peace out!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Christie says:

    man M&Ms sound good…… damnit. now I need some….

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * SuZan says:

    Go to her house and she will push m&m’s on you too!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Kat says:

    I’d like to point out that while yes, Friday was cold – it’s WARM Again today! This time of year drives me crazy because it’s one extreme or the other! Makes getting dressed in the morning a pain in the ass. 🙂

    Sorry to hear the turkey day plans got hijacked. At least there will still be yummy food. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

