Celebrating Women for the Real World



It’s Thursday!

I think I’ve mentioned before how much I LOVE Thursdays.  Yes, I have to work tomorrow, but, it’s jeans day, my boss usually leaves early, I don’t go to the gym Thursday or Friday, and, although it’s sad but true, I’m excited today that I don’t have to cook dinner tomorrow as we go out on Friday!  Woo Hoo!  Even if we go to Jack In The Box I don’t care; I’m not cooking!

(Note to you youngsters- yes, be prepared, things like the above?  That’s what we call excitement!)

Now onto some other stuff.  I’m going to move quickly and jump around.  How is that different from any other post?  It’s not.  I just have a lot of insignificant things on my mind that I don’t want to forget!

Let’s start with some interesting SPAM mail.  Lately I’ve been getting a bunch that tell me “How To Become A Lazy Google Millionaire”.  Can I tell you I’m just a little tempted to find out how to do that?  Really, what if there were a million dollars sitting there waiting for me to open that email?  I know, I know; but I really would like to do something fun and easy while making a butt load of money!

Then there is this.  I’m unsure how I feel about this.  I was not a cheerleader in high school.  My daughter was not.  My son DATED several.  The few that I knew took cheer-leading very seriously.  It was a sport to them.  They took their role as cheerleader as serious as our boys took their roll on the football team.  Yes, they are not perfect.  I don’t know if these girls did what they did to be malicious.  They obviously didn’t think through what the consequences of their actions may be.  Heck, one of the “victims” (for lack of a better word), could have died.  You would think that a senior in high school would realize when enough is enough.  Further, I feel for the girls who were hazed.  Yes, something needed to be done to prevent the potential of someone getting hurt.  But I’m thinking the “victims” aren’t enjoying their teenage life too much as I’m sure they may be considered somewhat of an outcast. 

I think the way I feel is that too much emphasis is being put on the fact that they were cheerleaders as opposed to it being a high school prank gone bad.  It paints an ugly picture of high school cheerleaders. 

Thoughts?

Changing topics……………hang on!

Something happened yesterday and I’m not sure how I feel about it.  My son, the youngest son, came home from his dads house and told me he’s starting drivers ed on December 1st.  Not only that, in six months he will be 16 and will be able to drive. 

Gulp.

I knew it was coming.  I am just not ready.  I guess I’ll have to jump in with both feet without testing the water.  I must come out of denial that my baby, yes, my BABY is growing up!

When the oldest was ready to drive, it was exciting.  I looked at it as an adventure.  I was also terrified as heck. 

Then my daughter turned 15.  The two oldest were basically learning to drive at the same time.  They got their license on the same day.  Don’t ask.  There were circumstances.  Daughter with that bull headed desire and organization to get things done vs. oldest son who thinks things just get done!  Like I said, don’t ask.  It’s a long story.

Anyhow, it wasn’t THAT much of a big deal with daughter cause it was a simultaneous thing.  But now?  My baby?  Driving?  Thank goodness I have two older (over 18) children who can help with the teaching because me?  I’m too nervous!

I had other things to bore you with share, but it seems there is work to be done. 

With that I leave you with a High Five cause today is Thursday!

Peace!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * SuZan says:

    G ? Driving? OMG!!! Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! He still should be a snot nosed toddler!

    🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * meritt says:

    I love reading your posts. We always have so many similarities and since you are one step ahead of me I get to see what’s coming most of the time. LOL.

    When Coffeekid started driving 2 1/2 months ago I was… nervous! His sister has always been the mature, responsible, 25 year old trapped in an 8-year-olds body type kid. But this one? Forgets where he is going on his way upstairs. Typical boy thing I’m told, LOL. I was nervous and apprehensive but OMGosh the kid got behind the wheel and got pretty responsible!? Crazy. So far so good. I try not to think about him driving. I just go to my happy place and magically assume he walks out the door and is transported from place A to place B by little elves or something. 🙂

    As for cheerleaders; I read that story a couple months ago and thought; “Wow, those Texas Cheerleaders are nuts!” LOL. I think Cheerleading in Texas and Alabama is WAY more crazy than it is in other states. We don’t haze up here – and if they did they wouldn’t throw them in a pool like that. They would probably so something goofy like ‘kidnap’ them and take them out to breakfast in their pajamas.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

