Celebrating Women for the Real World



Nutcracker Market 2008

I finally went!  I have lived in Houston for around 24-25 years and I had never been to the Nutcracker Market.  So this year I convinced ShanghaiedSheri to go with me because Big G would probably hurt someone if I would have asked him to go, or he would call it a cattle call and start mooing.  Both scenarios where not the best of situations.

Nutcracker Market 2008

In a nutshell (pardon the pun) we went, we walked, we shopped, we spent, we conquered.  OMG my back hurt so bad when we left, but that’s what I get for wearing the “cute” sneakers instead of the cushy supportive ones.

I’m glad we went; I really have wanted to go for YEARS and had something else to do, or missed it completely. Now that I have been, I can say that it will not be an annual event. It is huge with many many vendors. But after about 4 hours of walking around shopping, every thing starts to look the same.

We did knock out some Christmas shopping and found some unusual gifts that we were glad to find.  We did have a scare when we had each purchased something from one of the vendors that they had to do something to our items so we were asked to come back towards the end of the day.  Just try and find a booth at the end of the day when you had been there right before lunch….Yeah you’ve got the picture…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here is a little survival recap of the day…

Nutcracker Market 2008

After 3 hours of shopping

Coffee

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Nutcracker Market 2008
After 5 hours of shopping

Ritas

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Nutcracker Market 2008

This is how they increased sales

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Nutcracker Market 2008

After a full day of shopping

 

I told Sheri that after I got home, I became horrizontal for the rest of the evening.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheeky says:

    oh that looks like fun. Very similar to the show I am going to this week!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Sheri says:

    Fun times! I will say however, that was $8 margarita? Made the afternoon much more fun! Oh, and you forgot to mention that we were able to snag the coffee for FREE!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Karen says:

    I like your survival tools! The crowds? Not so much.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Kat says:

    You didn’t tell me they had alcohol!!!! 😛 Oh well, drinking and shopping are not a good mix on my budget. 🙂

    Sounds like a lot of fun! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Christie says:

    oohoo! Looks like fun!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Kami says:

    Looks like our Junior League thing! But we served mimosas! For $3!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

