Celebrating Women for the Real World



Random (useless) ………

As Sheri had posted earlier we are about to have actual “winter type” weather for TWO WHOLE DAYS!  So I just might get to wear both of my sweaters this year…woo hoo!  I am also excited that we are going to the Nutcracker Market on Sunday.  I have lived in Houston for 20+ years and have never been so I managed to Shanghai talk Sheri into going with me. 

G2 is in Baton Rouge this weekend; he has an interview with the LSU athletic department for a job while he attends LSU when he transfers next fall (fingers crossed). Of course he went with some of his buddies and he took the cow suit (so.very.proud).

Not much else is happening around here….so I leave you with some random useless facts:

  • If you fart consistently for 6 years and 9 months, enough gas is produced to create the energy of an atomic bomb. My friends and I should be able to have one in only about 3 years.
  • The human heart creates enough pressure when it pumps out to the body to squirt blood 30 feet.
  • Banging your head against a wall uses 150 calories an hour.
  • Humans and dolphins are the only species that have sex for pleasure.
  • On average people fear spiders more than they do death.
  • The strongest muscle in the body is the TONGUE.
  • It’s impossible to sneeze with your eyes open. True…try it sometime.
  • You can’t kill yourself by holding your breath. Because you pass out.
  • Every time you lick a stamp, you’re consuming 1/10 of a calorie.
  • Did you know that you are more likely to be killed by a champagne cork than by a poisonous spider?
  • Right-handed people live, on average, nine years longer than left-handed people do. Really? I wonder why?
  • In ancient Egypt, Priests plucked EVERY hair from their bodies, including their eyebrows and eyelashes.
  • A pig’s orgasm lasts for 30 minutes. WOW
  • A crocodile cannot stick its tongue out.
  • The ant can lift 50 times its own weight, can pull 30 times its own weight and always falls over on its right side when intoxicated.
  • Polar bears are left handed.
  • The catfish has over 27,000 taste buds, that makes the catfish rank #1 for animal having the most taste buds.
  • The flea can jump 350 times its body length, that is like a human jumping the length of a football field.
  • A cockroach will live nine days without it’s head before it starves to death. Now this explains a lot!
  • The male praying mantis cannot copulate while its head is attached to its body. The female initiates sex by ripping the males head off.  OK we could have so much fun with this one.
  • Some lions mate over 50 times a day.
  • Butterflies taste with their feet.
  • Elephants are the only animals that can’t jump.
  • A cat’s urine glows under a blacklight. I have tested this and it is true.
  • An ostrich’s eye is bigger than it’s brain.
  • Starfishes haven’t got brains.
  • After reading all these, all I can say is….Damn Pigs.

 

Have a great weekend everyone!!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sheri says:

    Ha! I was thinking “lucky pigs, but at least I’ll outlive all the left handed people. Oh, and the tongue being the strongest muscle? Again, damn pigs!”

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  2. * Kat says:

    You know, I’ve never been to the Nutcracker market either and I’ve lived here all my life. The HSPCA always has people out there, but I’ll be at the actual shelter tomorrow so no worries about me trying to push a puppy on you. 🙂

    Yay for two days of cold! If I time it right, maybe I can rotate through all three of my sweaters! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  3. * Karen says:

    I’ve been here 10 years now and never been to Nutcracker Market, either! Report back on the experience. Looking forward to some good autumn weather.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

