Celebrating Women for the Real World



It’s Supposed To Get Cold This Weekend in Houston!

Sho is!  The high is only going up to 67!  Time to pull out the wool socks and light the fire place!  I’m not kidding!  That’s cold for these parts.  It’s also supposed to be windy!  Hmmmm, may make soup and homemade bread for dinner.  Yum!

I’m sure you all that live in the colder parts of the country are thinking “WTF?”  Yeah, I would be too.  But you see, this cold spell…..it will last all of two days.  Then it will be back in the 70’s.  We therefor embrace all of this coldness and try to wear all of our winter clothes at once!

On another note, I would like some reader in-put.  All of you lurkers…..COMMENT!  This is important.

On December 1st I will be hosting Bunco.  It’s our Christmas Bunco.  We are known as the “Light Group.”  In other words, whoever hosts makes a light dinner of salad and/or soup and a light dessert.  I’ve got a few ideas floating in my head. 

My first thought was to make quiche-one spinach and one Loraine; a tossed salad; garlic bread; and no pudge brownies.   Everything but the bread can be made ahead and warmed.

My second thought was to make a chicken pasta salad which is basically bow tie pasta, rotisserie chicken, parm. cheese, whatever other veggies I want to add, and FF Italian dressing; garlic bread; and no pudge brownies.  Again, all but the bread can be made the day before. 

My thought with the quiche is that it is quick and warm and somewhat festive.  My mom used to own a restaurant.  We made at least 5 quiches every day.  I can make them with my eyes closed.  Therefor it’s just as easy for me to make a quiche as it is for me to pull chicken.

Thoughts?

Second topic – our neighborhood does a progressive Christmas dinner.  I’m hosting dessert at my house.  I provide one dessert and coffee and two other people will bring dessert.  I’m thinking about serving fancy dipped strawberries with some easy brownie truffles.  Sound good?  What?  Oh, you thought I was going to dip the strawberries myself.  You don’t know me that well.  No,  I would buy them from here.

I do have a Martha Stewart question for you smarties.  If I serve two types of flavored creamer, should I leave it in the container, or pour into a fancy creamer thinger with a sign that indicates what it is?  Also, would Irish Coffee be appropriate or too much hassle.

Oh, tis’ the season! 

That’s it for today.  Ta for now.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    Hmmm… how about you do a test run on all that yummy stuff you mentioned and then bring it to me to do a taste test… then I could give you a better answer. 🙂 haha

    As for the creamers, unless ya’ll are getting really fancy and what not, I’d say keeping it in the containers is fine. You wouldn’t want to get the rep for being the ‘snobby’ neighbor. 😛 hahahahaha

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * meritt says:

    You could make some low fat brownies – 🙂

    That didn’t help… I know. LOL.

    PS: For the flavored creamer I think I’d leave it in the containers so they can see the brand and flavor easily. It’s also easier for you!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Kami says:

    – Quiches!

    – Love the dessert idea.

    – And I’d put the creamers in some fancy creamer things.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  4. * anita says:

    ditto Kat on the creamer:)
    LOVE quiche!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

