Celebrating Women for the Real World



Pennsylvania…..the rest of the story!

Since all three of our readers requested an update, and since I’m sitting in the airport drinking Dunkin Donuts coffee, I will oblige.

Friday was a very LONG day.  Up at 3:30 a.m., to the airport at 5:00; flying; renting a car; getting lost; checking in; getting a call from the office while checking in; finding food; etc., etc.  By that point, there was no time for resting.  I did however fall asleep in my chair with my laptop for a few. 

We found the bride and grooms house.  Again, I forgot how beautiful Pennsylvania is.  However, I may have experienced a bit of road terrets again as the major roads….are ONE lane.  Apparently they are quite fond of enforcing the speed limits here.  I also was getting a bit concerned as the route to their house isn’t on the GPS.  We passed a creek, a winery, and lots of trees.  Finally, in the clearing, his house. 

They surprised us with a stretch Cadilac limo to take us to dinner.  We all piled in and headed for a journey to an unknown place.  Even the best man didn’t know where we were going.  After the champagne started flowing, no one really cared.  I wish I would have gotten a picture of the limo driver.  His name was Lonnie.  He came complete with a bad perm and a hang down cross earring.  Think about the movie “The Wedding Singer.”  He looked EXACTLY like that. 

We had quite a time at the restaurant.  The made of honor was a cute blond.  We all determined by the end of the meal that she was a REAL blond.  So many blond jokes could be told from the night but there is not enough time.  The best man works for the DEA.  She said “What’s the DEA?” He said “It has to do with drugs.”  To which she replied, “Oh, you’re the DARE guy!”  Yes, she also wanted them to butterfly her Prime Rib so it would get done in the middle.  Yes, the table went silent.

When we finally got back to the room, we were EXHAUSTED!  I called to check on the kids, but quite frankly they could have told me they were holding a prayer session and I would have believed them.  I was that tired.

Saturday was overcast and cold.  A great day for sleeping.  After breakfast I did just that.  I took a nice 2 hour nap.  Then it was time for the wedding.

The wedding was nice.  When the bride’s daughter (she’s 8) saw her mom come down the aisle, she started crying.  You could see the pride in her eyes.  Of course I started to tear up. 

We headed to the reception.  James danced with me three times.  Why is this important?  Because up until yesterday, he’s only ever danced with me twice.  Twice in ten years!  For some reason, they sat the pastor at our table.  I was a bit worried.  I was worried until his wife started dancing to the music.  They were fun!

Our menu choice was surf and turf.  I was expecting a small steak with a few fried shrimp pieces.  Nope, try filet mignon with lobster!  Nice! I have determined however that that combination may not be the best for my stomach!  I was a bit gassy.  James said when they get their pictures back people will be asking what was wrong with Table 6.  There will be a green cloud surrounding it.  No, I didn’t slug him.  It was THAT bad.

Now we are at the airport waiting to board.  I wish we could have stayed longer to tour and take-in all the history.  I am glad to know where my nose came from.  Everyone’s nose looks like mine.  I found my people!

I don’t know yet if any of the kids had a party at the house.  I’m hoping not.  I am tired and am looking forward to sleeping in my bed tonight. 

Have a great week!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * meritt says:

    Filet Mignon with lobster at a wedding? YUM! And I laughed about Lonnie the driver AND the blonde. She wanted her prime rib butterflied so it would be done… LOL.

    Cute.

    Of course I’m now craving filet mignon but uh, I’m more of the small steak with a few shrimp on the side kind of budget. Hee hee.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * SuZan says:

    Wow….sounds like so much fun! Can’t wait to hear the details!!!

    So you know where your nose comes from he? Bwahahahaha you crack me up.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * kate says:

    Glad you guys had a fun weekend. Hopefully you came home to a house that had no parties.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Kami says:

    That’s pretty blonde. Damn.

    Can’t wait to see pics!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Kat says:

    Wow! Filet mignon and lobster at a wedding? Awesome! 🙂

    Sounds like a great time! That blonde really does sound… blonde. 😛

    I think you need to fact the facts, you’re just plain gassey. 🙂 hahahaha 🙂 Embrace your gassiness. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

