Celebrating Women for the Real World



Ahhhh, Friday

It’s been one of those weeks.  It’s been a long week.  I woke up this morning with that “ahhh, every thing’s going to be OK” feelings.  The weather is supposed to be nice this weekend.  I’m looking forward to doing all the things I haven’t done because hot and humid weather makes me unmotivated and cranky.

I know you didn’t check in just to read my mundane thoughts and to see what the mood of the day is.  I can’t let you, our dedicated reader down, so I’ll give you a glance at one of the thoughts going through my brain.  Careful, its scary in there!

What have I been thinking about?  Since the President spoke of the financial disaster our country faces I have found myself longing for a simpler life.  As adults, we are no different than children when it comes to limits.  We as a society are constantly pushing those limits.  That’s not necessarily a bad thing.  Really, think about a lot of medical advances and such that just wouldn’t exist if we didn’t push and exceed limits. 

Financially, how many have you have exceeded your limits because the opportunity to do such was made available to you? 

If I replied to every “specially reserved credit card” offer that I receive in the mail, I would be in deep poop.  But it’s not just credit cards.  It’s everything.  As long as we continue to be approved for every offer given to us, we will continue to over spend until someone says “stop”! 

A few years ago my husband and I had a major financial crises.  We did what we had to to overcome, but it wasn’t pretty.  I’m not going to blame anyone for the situation because ultimately we are responsible for our actions.  Yes, we lived in “the” neighborhood and both had “the” cars, “the” clothes, went on “the” trips, etc., etc.  I figured as long as we were getting approved, then we must be able to afford the lifestyle.

Wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was hard making those changes, but I’m glad we did.  I’m not going to lie, we enjoy the finer things in life.  However, now when we indulge in those finer things, a lot more thought goes into the expenditure.  It’s not easy, and we don’t always get what we want when we think we want it, but at the end of the day, we’re no longer afraid to walk to the mailbox and see what’s in there. 

Is what’s happening to the US economy a bad thing?  Absolutely.  I do wish however that everyone would take some responsibility for their actions and stop trying to blame someone else for their predicament.  Yes, some decisions by our government could have been better, but, at the end of the day, did the President come to your house and make you buy that car that was really outside of your ability to afford?  Or make you buy that house instead of the one that was slightly smaller?

Hmmm, me thinks that last statement may cause some controversy so I’ll post the disclaimer:  No throwing sand in the sand box and no attacking other commentors.

All right.  I guess that’s it for today.

Peace out dudes!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Christie says:

    Dave Ramsey.

    That’s all I’m going to say.

    SB and I use him and .. he’s awesome

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  2. * Tammy says:

    So, what you’re saying is, GW didn’t come to my house and MAKE me buy the Tahoe?

    Damn. I so wanted to blame him. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  3. * Kat says:

    Sheesh, I specifically recall GW standing next to me in the Coach store telling me it was my national duty to buy more purses… and sunglasses… 😉

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  4. * Karen says:

    Personal responsibility? Can’t I just cry and the gubmint will pay my bills? Doesn’t everyone owe me my house and lifestyle? This is a shocking realization.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Kami says:

    Have you guys seen that credit documentary that Kat is making us watch? It’s good.

    I may be different here, but I think there is a lot more blame on the sub-prime lenders for this one. So many were approved for loans they should not have been approved for.

    I also think credit card companies should be banned from soliciting at college campuses.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

