Celebrating Women for the Real World



Mum, Mum, Mum, Mum! (Sing it like Beethoven)

I didn’t think I could do it, but I did!  Sunday night I kept sending Suz text messages like:

“I can’t do this.”

and

“I’ll never get this done.”

and

“Can you come dress my bear?”

Low and behold I did it.  I turned the hodge-podge of stuff in the post below into this:

The bear on the mum:

Mum bear finished by you.

Here it is all done:

finished mum by you.

Meritt asked me why we make these mums.  I really don’t know.  I grew up in Pennsylvania.  The only reason we went to homecoming was to drink go to the dance and kiss boys then eat pizza at Pizza Hut and feel really grown up because we could stay out til after 11:00.  Kids!  (We did eat pizza.  At least we didn’t lie about that).

Any Texans want to shed some light on the whole mum thing?

For the record, I finished a day early!  Can I get a Woo Hoo?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * SuZan says:

    Woo Hoo! I’m just so happy he decided on which girl….lol
    You did great!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Christie says:

    woot! Nice job!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Tammy says:

    Whoo-Hoo!

    I got nuthin. Except I have to make one and an arm thing-y for a boy in the next couple of weeks.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Kat says:

    It looks awesome! Great job!!! 🙂

    The Chrysanthemum is the ‘Queen of the Fall Flowers’ and in the South, it was traditional to give small flower corsages to girlfriends and mothers at the football homecoming games. That whole southern Hospitatlity thing. 🙂

    True to the saying, ‘Everything is Bigger in Texas’… the tradition grew and grew until you have the modern day mum. Partly a show of school spirit, a fashion statement, and a popularity contest, ‘someone likes me’… the bigger, the flashier, the better. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  5. * meritt says:

    Kat – Mums are the queen of Fall flowers up here too! LOL. (I just bought three more yesterday… now, if I could only get my butt in gear to plant them. Sigh.)

    AWESOME job on that Mum girl! It’s lovely and I adore the colors!!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Kami says:

    Looks great!

    No idea why we do it. All I know is I could barely walk my senior year because of the mums.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  7. * amy says:

    I have no idea. I grew up in TX, so I just thought it was normal everywhere. I went to WV for my junior year, and my best friend said “You WORE that? IN PUBLIC??”

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

