Celebrating Women for the Real World



We Survived

My goodness.  I didn’t mean for the last post to sound so doom and gloom, as if something would happen that would keep us from blogging.  Whatever.  Stress.

My family survived.  Not much sleep, but we survived.  One package of Double Stuff Oreos – GONE!  Our electricity went out about 9:00 last night.  It’s a bit warm.  The kids are a bit stir crazy without TV and computers (they didn’t heed my note about charging).  Silly kids.  I’ve got enough ice left to keep the milk and lunch meat cold.  I froze water bottles and Capri Sun so we have cold drinks and another alternative to ice in the chest.

As far as damage, we have a tree in the back that is uprooted.  It’s leaning on the neighbor’s garage behind us.  When it uprooted, it took half the hedge with it.  Hopefully we’ll be able to save it.  The entire fence on the one side of the house is down (yes Kat, between us and the “gifted” one).  We lost a lot of shingles which seems to have caused a leak in the ceiling in G’s room.  Poor G, always his room.

Thank goodness we have gas.  No, not THAT kind of gas.  Gas as in a gas stove.  I can at least boil water for things like noodles and instant coffee (gag – but it’s better than nothing).  I made eggs.  Not sure what’s on the menu for tonight.  Either Peanut butter and jelly or jelly and peanut butter.  Or maybe I’ll splurge and make grilled cheese.

I talked briefly with Suz.  She said she won’t have to trim her trees.  Not sure if that’s a good thing.  She had some minimal damage and no electricity.  We are going to smell REALLY good by the end of the weekend.  At least we can take showers.

Things I have learned during my first hurricane.

  1. When partaking in Hurricanes at a Hurricane block party before a hurricane hits, keep in mind that your only refuge the next morning is INSTANT coffee.  Oh, and drinking makes you hotter!
  2. Don’t make bean soup for dinner the night the hurricane is to hit.  Your electricity will most likely go out.  Been soup, confined space, no a/c.  Not a pleasant combination.
  3. Your oldest son will not believe you when you say the electricity may be out for 3 days.  He won’t charge his stuff.  When the lights go out, he will ask what he’s supposed to do now.

Long and short, we survived.  I’m hoping to have Monday off as well.  I need the rest of today to wrap my head around what needs to be done, tomorrow to start clean-up, then Monday to deal with all the shit that comes with trying to get stuff fixed.

Thank you for all your thoughts, prayers, and well wishes.  Please continue to keep us in your prayers and pray that we won’t throttle a husband or kid that complains one more time about it being hot, being bored, or not wanting to eat chips or mac and cheese!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * anita says:

    so glad you are all ok!!!
    we live on an island…NOT as exotic as it sounds…and lose electricity several times each year…blizzards, hurricanes, wind storms…anyway, I feel your instant coffee pain…I solved the problem with a percolator!!! I get that baby out whenever we have a storm. you can find them in an camping supply aisle and they make GREAT coffee!!!!
    Stay safe and good luck with the clean up:)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Karen says:

    Good to read your update. Fortunately the hubs is home and working our generator. Half of our subdivision has power but not my half. Hopefully in the next couple of days.

    Hang in ther.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Tammy says:

    I have gas.

    Oh wait. You said not that kind.

    So very glad you survived. Next time, come to Big D. My electricity is still on!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Christie says:

    I’m glad you guys are ok!

    I feel like such a doofus for not asking if you were ok sooner…. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

