Celebrating Women for the Real World



Preparing for Ike

It is 11:00 pm here in the C-Y-P.  Ike has made landfall in Galveston and we still have power.  Unfortunately, Sheri (3 miles away) is not so lucking.  Hurricane Ike should be here in about 2 hours and we have done all we can to get ready.  I guess I have been worried about this one because we have dodged quite a few this year so we are probably due.  Everyone is in good spirits, everyone on the street came out today and we flew kites and had an impromptu soccer game then just hung out and talked.  It is sad that I have lived in this house over 15 years and did not know all of my neighbors.  I think it is a sign of the times we live in but I enjoyed meeting the newest ones on the block.

So to prepare for Ike we had to empty the back yard.  We have a good set up to entertain so we have lots of patio furniture.  We moved most of it inside to the dining room along with potted plants and the canopy of the gazebo, so the dinning room looks like this…

Prep for Ike

On Thursday there was no ice to be found in Cypress so I improvised and filled the freezer with water bottles.

Prep for Ike

I had to laugh at Sheri’s post about leaving post-it notes everywhere because I did on the oven since I used it for storage.

Prep for Ike

So we are here, bunkered down to the best of our ability. We have plenty of food, water, flashlights, batteries, lanterns, phones charged and texting fingers ready. I will try and go to sleep but I have a feeling that it will be like last night when I tossed and turned until 4:00 am.

Prep for Ike
Priorities people…

Prep for Ike
Kat would be proud, I even got munchies for Mercedes and Zeus (yes my dog LOVES cat treats).

Everything is picked up and put away, everything that could possibly be washed is and all I have left to do is put the sheets back on the bed and crawl in. Hopefully we won’t loose power but I think that is a pipe dream.

Good night all…..we’ll see you on the flip side.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kami says:

    Okay! I’ll be ’round in the morning to get that bacon.

    LYMI!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * meritt says:

    Good morning!!! I’m just stopping in early to check on you and yours. You were the FIRST THING I thought of this morning when I woke and laid in bed… wondering how you guys made out. I checked news right away and see 4 million are without power so I assume it will be a bit before you see this but wanted to stop in.

    I LOVED to see how prepared and ready you are! Great job!!! Now, let’s hope and pray it’s not needed….

    You guys are both in my thoughts today!!!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Karen says:

    Hope you all made it ok. Our power went out about 9:00 and rain finally stopped a little while ago. Hubs connected generator and even hooked up some neighbors. Now we wait for power.

    Our yard is a mess but no big limbs hit our house or cars. Hubs threw lawn furniture into swimming pool before storm, like they do in hotels!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

