Celebrating Women for the Real World



If I had to assign a title to this post……

It would be “I flunked the test before it ever started”

I went to the hospital for my MRI.  I am claustrophobic.  I know this.  But I shouldn’t have worried about THAT part of the test.  No.  I was doing great – got there in time, found parking, found the right office, PAID (Gah), etc., etc.  Then I panicked.  This woman walked me to the ladies dressing room.  She started handing me stuff.  “This goes on 1st, this next, open in back, open in front, leave your panties on…….i heard nothing else from that point forward.  All I could think of was “panties?  I didn’t wear any!  Oh no!  Will they still do the test?”  All the while she kept handing me stuff to put on and was giving me directions.  I got into the dressing room and looked at the pile of “stuff”.  I wanted to cry (Aunt Flo came today – splains alot).  I considered running.  But damn it, these smart people already collected my money.  I’m to damn cheap to throw that kind of money away.  I was in it for the long haul. 

What’s a girl to do?  I just started putting shit on.  Opening in front, opening in back, scrubs, socks.  I felt a little better when I got to the socks.  At least I couldn’t screw up putting on the socks.

All in all I made it through.  I asked them to stop the test once.  When you have back issues and you are forced to lie on your back without moving, you will be in pain.  Your body will feel like someone is shoving metal swords from the bottom of your feet, up your leg and into your spine. 

I would like to give Kudos to Memorial Herman Hospital.  I experienced only professional and friendly staff members who treated me with patience and kindness.  They were all very professional.  The facility was very clean and comfortable.  Way to go!

On another note, when I got home, my dear hubs who knew how much pain I was in had folded laundry AND changed the light bulb in my closet.  Then he MADE me sit on the couch and brought me coffee.  Thank you honey.  I love you so much.  All that you did for me meant a lot!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * SuZan says:

    Awwwwwww…Mr. JK is a good man my dear! and Yikes! on everything else (that so would have been me).

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  2. * meritt says:

    Do tell… did anyone notice you didn’t wear your undies? LOL.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Nancy says:

    I tolerated a closed MRI once and only once. It was like being stuffed into a cannon, with me as the cannon ball.

    After that experience, and I’m not claustrophobic, I insist on an open MRI.

    And Uhmm NO PANTIES????

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  4. * SuZan says:

    LMAO….I had to ask her Meritt’s question if anyone noticed that she didn’t wear undies…….Sheri said they didn’t. Of course she also stated that after they told her to leave her undies on that she thought she was a ‘Peanuts’ character and only heard “Whua wa whua wa wa” after that.

    🙂

    I had to tell…hehehe

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

