Celebrating Women for the Real World



Ahhh, The First Day Of School

It was really weird this year.  I only had to think about one child.  Well three, but the two older ones just require money.  The rest is up to them.  The youngest son started his Freshman year of high school. 

Why was it strange?  Instead of ME having to do all the running and taking, he wanted his sister to take him to his orientation cause, well, I guess I’m old and stuff; he wanted his sister to take him school shopping cause, well, I guess it has to do with that old factor again.  Pretty much all I had to do was hand out the cash.  Oh yeah, I also have to shuttle him around to football.  I forgot how nice it is to have teenage drivers who can drive themselves to their activities.

On Sunday around dinner time I started to feel really out of sorts.  Like I really needed to be stressed about school and throw myself among the throngs of other parents frantically looking for all those items on the supply list.  I couldn’t stand it any longer and went to Target.  I stock up every year during the sales so I really didn’t need anything.  But I just HAD to buy something.  Ah, yes, a five subject standard rule notebook.  I didn’t have one of those in the cabinet and EVERY child will need one at some point.  Oh, and pens.  Yes, pens.  I can never find one around the house.  Oh, and some snacks.  Back to school snacks.  Shut it.  I know I’m the one that will eat them. 

When it was all said and done I felt better buying something.  Oh, and I HAD to take a picture of my last one going off to high school.  He humored me.

Gabe Freshman by you.

In other news, I became a grandmother again over the weekend.  Yes, my daughter took in a puppy.  I laugh every time I say puppy.  He is a German Shepard mixed with some animal that has really long legs.  When he runs he looks similar to a deer.  He kind of leaps.  He is six months old.  He thinks he’s a lap dog.  He’s very sweet but just too big and active for our house.  What did my daughter do?  She sold her dad on the idea of keeping the dog at his house.  We only live 5 mins away so it’s not a big deal.  His name is Jackson and he’s very sweet and loving.  I like being grandma cause I can do things like buy  him bones, treats and toys and send them with her.  He will come and visit occasionally, then he will go home.  No big poopies in the yard!

Meet Jackson (don’t ask me where that name came from)

jackson by you.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * SuZan says:

    He is a very sweet puppy! Loves people too.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Kat says:

    What a sweet face! Good Lord you aren’t kidding about the long legs, it will be interesting to see if his body grows into them. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Nancy says:

    Long legs and big ears and a big nose… gonna be an interesting dog!

    PS: Tell Daughter that the bark parks are great places to exercise and socialize the puppy. We went there the night before last and there were puppies galore, every size, shape and color.

    PPS: watch the weather news, we may be having a visitor named Gustav soon.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Kami says:

    Lookit those long legs!!!

    That boy has grown since I saw him!!! HOLY!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

