Celebrating Women for the Real World



Mama Mia……….here I go again!

Sheri and I made it out last night to catch Mama Mia and we had a blast!  Sheri said that she couldn’t talk JK into going and Big G told me that the movie had three strikes against it.  I asked him how could it possibly have three strikes against it, it was just released last week…

Well (he said); first of all it is full of ABBA music (big G HATES ABBA…why I don’t know).  Second, the movie is a musical and he cannot stand musicals.  Finally, it is a ‘chick flick’ and we all know that he cannot be seen watching a chick flick.

We both really enjoyed the movie.  I think I knocked down Sheri’s purse because I couldn’t keep my feet still, and she is probably deaf from my singing every-single-song.  I really can’t pin point any one reason why I loved this movie.  Not much of a plot, actually pretty predictable but uplifting.  Beautiful setting, the scenery was breath taking, Oh and the music…the music simply took me back in time to a more simple and free time in my life (I was in high school during the height of their popularity…don’t even do the math thankyouverymuch).  JUST GO SEE THE MOVIE and have fun!

Now getting off topic here, for all of you that remember the music, which were your favorite ABBA songs?  I loved ‘Thank you for the music’; ‘Take a chance on me’; and S.O.S.

So have you seen the movie?  What did you think?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Karen says:

    I think my fave is “Take a Chance on Me.” It’s the first one to pop into my head anyway.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  2. * Karen says:

    Or, “Dancing Queen”. That one’s a classic, too.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  3. * Tammy says:

    I’m gonna go with Dancing Queen.

    I want to see that movie, but since NLF is my movie date, I will probably have to wait till it comes out on DVD.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  4. * Tammy says:

    I need a Sheri.

    EFF you WordPress. My commenting speed is just fine.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  5. * Sheri says:

    I love S.O.S.

    So much fun. I will see the movie again. I think we should drag, er, take teenage daughter. Hee, hee.

    BTW- YOU are so the main character and unfortunately, I think I’m the “kept” one. Can’t put her drink down. Yup, that’s me.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  6. * Missy says:

    I saw it this weekend and LOVED IT. I want to buy it now. My husband wouldn’t see it either. Now when we see the commericals for it he tells our three year old, mommy loved that movie.

    I loved the songs – one of my first favorite artists. The song I cannot get out of my head since seeing the movie though, “money money money”.

    Oh and that “slipping through my fingers” made both me and my mom cry. I blame it on the hormones. Baby makes me cry at everything – lol.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  7. * Jill says:

    going tomorrow. thanks for the review, I have been debating but will definitely go now. Dancing queen. BTW you are not old – I was in high school at the same time!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  8. * Kat says:

    I have always loved ‘Dancing Queen’ and am still likely to drag people out onto the dance floor with me anytime it comes on. 🙂

    I’m supposed to see this with my mom and sister and possibly my aunt, depending on when our schedules all coordinate… 😛

    Glad ya’ll had a good time!

    BTW, The Dark Knight? IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If anyone needs someone to see it with, I’d go again in a second! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

