Celebrating Women for the Real World



A Glimpse of The New Casa…..and other stuff

The patio in all it’s outside goodness.  Yes, I have boxes all over the house; but the patio?  The patio is done.  I need a few more plants.  All in good time.  I must say, I love the patio more than I loved the pool.  We hardly ever used the pool.  A pool is a lot of work.  I can’t like more work.  The pool also brought A LOT of mosquitoes.  I really don’t like mosquitoes!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now onto other stuff.  I’ve mentioned before about my plight to lose weight.  I was down 23 lbs. at my birthday.  Not too shabby if I do say so myself.  I not only started to look better,  I must admit, I was feeling better.  I had more energy, my skin was clear, my hair was healthy, my attitude was better. 

Over the last 3 weeks I have been eating whatever/whenever.  You know how it is when you move, not only did the move effect my food choices, my emotions did as well.  I could most definitely be the poster child for emotional eaters anonymous.  I eat when I’m stressed; I eat when I’m mad; I eat when I’m sad…..you get the picture.  Now really, who’s going to go get a freakin carrot after someone just pissed them off when there is a perfectly good carton of Reese’s ice cream in the freezer? 

Yeah, I have a point.  The point is, I am a continual W*eight W*atcher joiner.  Each January I attempt to lose weight.  I get down to about where I am now then, well, I crumble.  Slowly the lbs start creeping back on.  I can find any excuse in the book to eat french fries and take a nap instead of eating a salad and going to the gym. My biggest excuse was that I was not overweight, I was under tall!  If I were a foot taller, my weight would be perfect!

Goals – they are important when trying to achieve something like weight loss.  Every January my goal is to lose enough weight by my birthday (June 1st BTW), to where people notice and say “wow, you’re losing weight!  You’re looking good!”

Now, notice my words “lose enough weight”; not lose all the weight I should in order to be within the guidelines “they” say is healthy.  Who the heck “they” are, I’m not sure.  I’m pretty confident that “they” are some sadistic little elves who set these evil goals to make people hate themselves.

To wrap this up, I gained 4 lbs over the last 3 weeks.  I was not at my goal weight prior to the move.  As I said, I had lost 23 lbs up to that point, but still had about 20 lbs. to get to where I want.  I don’t want to follow my usual pattern as described above.  I want to continue to make good food choices and lose weight.  The first 23 lbs. were, well, not easy to lose.  I think I was determined and motivated to lose at least 20 lbs by my birthday which I did.  Oddly enough at the meeting tonight the leader talked about setting goals and coming up with a plan to achieve those goals.  She also had us write what we envision ourselves to look and feel like when we achieve those goals. 

Here’s where I should lie and paint some pretty little picture and say that I wrote how great I’m going to look and feel after another 20lbs.  The sad part – I couldn’t envision myself reaching that goal.  That made me angry.  It made me sad.  Why can I not see myself winning this battle? I want to win it damn it.  I do.  Why can’t I see myself at my goal? I was very motivated to lose weight by my birthday and I did it.  I’m afraid that setting a goal of 20 lbs by Christmas won’t be enough to motivate me to stay committed.

Now Internets, this is your time to psycho analyze me and my problem and then give me the advice, kind words, and motivation that I need to reach my goal.  If you think I need a kick in the ass, then kick it.  If you think I’m being self absorbed and I need to shut up and just do it – tell me.  If you have had this same problem but conquered it – tell me!  I need some encouragement, possibly an ass kicking, and most definitely some ideas to stay on track. 

I will write my goal so that you guys can hold me accountable.  My goal is to lose 24 lbs by Christmas (the 4 I gained plus the 20 I should lose to be within the standard range for short people).  I want to maintain that loss.  I want to help others that may have weight issues.  I want to be an inspiration. 

Wow, pretty heavy stuff for a Friday.  Have a great weekend and send me those “can do” thoughts.  BTW-remember the rules of the sand box when commenting – no throwing sand or you will be booted out!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    Hmm. Perhaps instead of setting such a specific goal in terms of pounds, you should set a goal of getting to the gym so many times a week from now until Christmas.

    Sometimes, looking at the big number we want to lose intimidates us, versus setting goals that are more achievable in our minds. not to mention, the more weight we lose, the harder it gets… the first bit comes quickly, and the rest takes a little more time -slowing down even more as we reach our goal. Perhaps that is why you tend to crumble? When progress slows you start to feel like you already failed?

    I would suggest goals of how you plan to eat and getting to the gym and sticking to it through the end of the year. You’ll still be losing, you’ll feel good, and you won’t be as intimidated because the goals are more acheivable. 🙂 You’ll still be going for the same goal, but thinking about it in a different way taht seems more ‘can do’. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Sheri says:

    I love you Kat! Brilliant idea. Makes it so much more doable. I will set goals to hit the gym 4 times a week instead of 3. On those weeks that I can’t make it 4 times, I’ll add 10 minutes extra the times I can make it.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  3. * SuZan says:

    That sounds like a good plan!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  4. * meritt says:

    First: Thank you for saying there are boxes all over inside (although you might be lying to make us feel better!) because I looked at the patio and my mouth dropped open and I thought; BUT SHE JUST MOVED IN!!!!!!! And I was jealous. LOL.

    Second: I can’t really help on the goal thing because dude, goals don’t work for me. They never have. I don’t feel the drive to reach that goal and whether it was school, work or personal I’m so rebellious by nature that goals to the opposite for me. I would LOVE to lose 15 lbs. (and need to!) but goals don’t work in this camp so I’ll have to figure out something else. LOL….

    PS: AWESOME about the weight that you have lost – WOW!!!!! My hat is off to you cuz I don’t think I’m strong enough to do it!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Kami says:

    LOVE that patio.

    I don’t see why you can’t do it if you want to. When I was there the two times before, you were late joining us because YOU WERE AT THE GYM. 😉 AND, you brought over something healthier than what we were eating. So, you are a heck of a lot stronger and better at this than the rest of us!

    If you don’t do it for YOURSELF, I will stab you in the neck.

    Oh dammit. There I go again.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Jill says:

    Well you have already achieved one of those goals – helping others with a similar issue. I have been struggling wanting and needing to lose 40 pounds but the thought of losing 4 pounds a month and taking a year to lose it just wasn’t worth the sacrifice. This blog that elicited Kat’s wonderful logical thought of setting a goal to make it to the gym instead of focusing on the pounds actually motivated me! That I can do – forget concentrating on the pounds thing but the gym attendance is MUCH more achievable in my mind. That you S&k!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

