Celebrating Women for the Real World



Desparate Housewives Say What?

I feel like I’m living on Wisteria Lane.  Seriously.  I think the neighbors were calling each other as the moving van pulled up.  Don’t get me wrong, my neighbors aren’t bad.  They are, hmmmm, inquisitive.  Yes, that’s it.  Each one has come over and asked questions and tried to peak around my shoulder to see what kind of stuff I have and what the yard looks like.  A bit nosey, yes; but they all seem to really care about their neighborhood.  They all told me that “we watch out for each other”; and “there is someone home in almost every house on the street at some time or other through out the day.”

My husband and I were invited to the neighbors across the street for dinner.  E made it sound as if it were a block party sort of thing.  No.  It was the “older” people on the block checking out the goods.  Sure as shit EVERYONE on the block knew that the new people on the block were having dinner with E and a few neighbors. 

Oh, the questions that were asked.  I think I may have even had a rectal exam.  I’m not sure.  Again, not that I minded because that’s what makes a hood a hood.  But I’m a bit private.  What?  Stop laughing. 

Kat and SuZan got to meet one set of neighbors.  Let’s just say that they were, um, interesting.  They were at dinner last night as well.  They brought brownies when they came to the house the night before.  Another couple at dinner asked how the brownies were.  Yup, people talk. 

Well, the kitchen is unpacked, the patio set up, the breakfast nook ready, the formal dining room and study are done.  The master bedroom is done.  That leaves the garage, game room and the kids bedrooms.  The kids are responsible for their rooms, but two of them need dressers.  Oh, that is a post in and of itself.  SuZan was on the receiving end of some frantic text messages.  The dresser still isn’t done.  I think I may have to pay big G to undue what we did (which isn’t good) then put it back together.  Yes, it was that bad!

All in all  we love the new house and we love the neighborhood.  Stay tuned, there may be pictures at some point.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Christie says:

    Hooray for new houses!
    🙂

    I would’ve offered the neighbors a tour of your sex dungeon…. BWAHAHHAHAAHA

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * meritt says:

    My stomach kind of flip flops reading this post. We lived in two (2) previous neighborhoods like this. UGH.

    Oh the drama. LOL. I think I’m too private of a person to live this way… which is why I’m Jonesin’ for a couple acres in the country.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Kat says:

    Yeah, they were, um, er, um, interesting. Nosy as hell, but interesting. 🙂

    I recall J saying she likes to try to put things together without reading the instructions first… is that possibly what happened? 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Sheri says:

    Kat – Yes, that’s true. But in this case, there were no instructions. Just pictures. And, the pictures didn’t match the actual hardware.

    I HATE assemblying things!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  5. * celebratingwomen says:

    LMAO…well at least it wasn’t the firing squad!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

