Celebrating Women for the Real World



Love Letters

Last night was the night.  I had to prepare for this task mentally and physically.  It was time; I was ready.  I got down on my knees…………………………..Oh, don’t get excited!  I got down on my knees to fish all the stuff out from under the bed!  Gah!

When we moved two years ago, we downsized by roughly 1800 sq. feet.  With this move we’ll get about 1,000 sq. ft. back!  Hallelujah!  I think that 1800 sq. ft. we lost was all storage!  We got nuttin I tell ya.  Therefore, whatever didn’t have “a spot” took up residence under the bed.  A few dog bones and a dog toy made it under there as well.  Wee dog was quite happy last night at the discovery of her long lost toy.

One of the boxes I pulled out was an old hat box.  I opened the lid and found a few special pictures and items the kids had made during their elementary days.  I put the lid on and went about my business.  Daughter came in and started being nosey, er, helping.  She was going through the box.  Down on the bottom she found a bunch of love letters my husband wrote to me.  Most were before we were married, a few after.  I grabbed them cause lord only knows what was written.  I didn’t want to permanently damage my daughter for life after reading what a hot sex kitten I used to be.  Yes, apparently back in the day my husband thought that to be the case. 

Before bed I retrieved these lost treasures and started reading.  My husband really, truly loved me.  According to him, he still does.  I’m glad I found those letters. 

Those letters made me realize how much time I spend blaming him for not being the same or acting the same as he did when we were first married instead of looking at myself and how I have changed.  It goes back to the old adage – every action causes a reaction.  I don’t act the same as I used to; I don’t treat him the same; therefor I don’t get the same reaction that I used to.  That made me sad to realize this because I love this man beyond comprehension.  I realize that I need to let that love guide me through the good times and the bad and not react in defensive mode to every little thing that comes my way.

Honey, I want to tell you publicly how much I love you, how very special you are, what a great man you are, and what a great husband you are.  I love you completely.  You make me a better person. 

Love you,

Your Princess

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. You are my reason for existing, you touch me in that place my heart and soul meet.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Moi says:

    You guys are killing me. I need to send Mr. Man over here. 8^)

    Beautiful …

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  3. * SuZan says:

    I think I’m going to cry!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Jill says:

    That brought tears to my eyes!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Kat says:

    Ya’ll are too adorable for words! I just hope I’m lucky enough one day to find someone just as special as you have found in your husband! Talk about a tear-jerker post, followed up with a ‘pass the tissues’ comment. 🙂

    Oh, but I do believe your husband’s beautiful comment might cause some arguments in the homes of your female readers… ‘Why can’t YOU say stuff like that????’ hee-hee

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  6. * meritt says:

    What a great post this morning over coffee. 🙂

    Thank You.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  7. * Tammy says:

    How very sweet.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Kami says:

    That is so sweet!! I love handwritten letters!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

