Celebrating Women for the Real World



The True Meaning of Irony

So it seems Word Press is not liking me today.  This is my third time posting this.  I copied and pasted the dictionary meaning of the work “irony”.  Word Press no likey.

Let’s take this approach.  See if you can derive the meaning of irony from this situation:

Last night was the American Idol finale.  My hubs and I are BIG fans.  Big!  The first show aired while hubs was in the hospital.  We still didn’t have a diagnosis.  We had a feeling, but no facts.  AI was the only semblance of “normal” at that moment.  So we watched.  We didn’t miss a show all season.  Dinners were planned around AI.  Workouts were planned around AI!  Shit, even most emergencies were going to have to wait until AI was over.  We LOVE it!

Last night we were ready.  I cut my workout 15 mins short.  I was in the driveway at 6:58.  My ass was on the couch at 7:00.  Finally, the moment we’ve been waiting for.  The show starts.  It’s the first performance.  Half way through….BANG!  The lights went out.  Then came on.  Then went out and back on.  Then finally out for good!  Damn it.  But we sat.  We waited.  We were sure they would come on at any moment.  One hour and 56 minutes later they came on.  Just as David Cook was halfway through his song.

Bob Damn It!  Missed the WHOLE show. 

There you have it.  The true meaning of irony.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * celebratingwomen says:

    Where did my post go? I’m not happy!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Tammy says:

    What did you do to piss off the AI Gods?

    Should have run over to Suz’s hosue to watch!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Faye says:

    It was a fab show and I’m SO pleased that Cook won! Sorry you missed it.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Kelly says:

    I’m sorry! I missed it because we were watching the Lakers game.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

