Celebrating Women for the Real World



Stuff

This is a post about stuff.  All kinds of stuff.  Some related, some not.  I told SuZan I’d post today.  I haven’t had time to organize my thoughts, but much has been going on.  Since I know all of our readers (all two of them) can’t wait to read about my boring life, I think I’ll do these updates in bullet format.  Enjoy!

  • As previously mentioned, we were doing a remodel at my office.  I think moving would have been easier.  This build out required many lunch less day, overtime, and weekend work.  I did what I could to accommodate as I was benefiting from this build-out as much as my bosses were.  I have a bigger office with better furniture.  My bosses who aren’t too quick with even a “thank you” surprised the crap out of me by giving me a $350 gift card to The Coach Store!  Can I get a Woo Hoo?
  • Prom.  Yes, it’s that time.  My daughter is a senior.  We’ve had the dressed on lay-away since January, the hair appt., nail appt., make up appt. and limo all booked since January.  My daughter is stressing!  Girls are soooooooooo much different than boys.  Last year my son woke up, went to school, came home, took a nap, then only showered before putting on his tux because I threatened him.  He’s going again this year as his girlfriend is a senior with my daughter.
  • The girlfriend – they’ve broken up at least 16 times over the last two weeks.
  • Son JUST ordered his tux – prom is next Friday
  • It’s cheaper to send your son to the prom
  • I’m volunteering at Project Prom – our after prom lock in.  Yup, 9:30 p.m. until 6:00 a.m.  What was I thinking?
  • As soon as we finish with Prom, my daughter will be graduating!  My Bob!  I’ll have two birdies ready to leave the nest.  The only problem – THEY KEEP COMING BACK!  No, really.  I want my kids to be independent.  Do you know how hard it is to adjust to your college kid coming home for summer?  Yes, I strongly encouraged summer school!
  • I am not an IT expert.  In fact, I used to be terrified of computers.  I didn’t touch a computer until 1995.  The only experience I have has been self taught.  The funny part – I pretty much handle the IT issues at the office.  What I can’t figure out we then outsource.  Good grief.
  • We’re moving again.  Oh, that’s a WHOLE different post in the making.  You are just going to have to check back for that!
  • Last, but not least, I turn 40 in 5 weeks.  40 is so different than 30.  I’m ready.  I actually am pretty impressed with what I’ve accomplished thus far.  To think, my mom didn’t even HAVE me until she was 42 and here I am at 40 with my 2nd one finishing high school!

That should do it.  Yes, as you’ve guessed, you must prepare yourself to be inundated with Prom/graduation pictures! 

Have a great day!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * anita says:

    woo hoo!!!! I like D & G better though:)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. “We’re moving again.”

    “We” as in the web-site or “We” as in your family? Might I throw a positive word in for Wisconsin in the event that you are looking for a more Northern location?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Kat says:

    Dude, I think I love your bosses… are they looking to hire? 😉 hahahaah

    Hate moving, all that packing and unpacking and what not – at least college son can help with the heavy lifting! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Karen says:

    Hate, hate, hate moving. When we moved to Houston in 1998, we rented a house in The Woodlands. We hated it up there and moved into Houston the next summer. Moving two summers in a row? OMG.

    Forty is fabulous. It was for me, anyway. Very liberating.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  5. * SuZan says:

    I have to agree with Karen, 40 is fabulous baby! Now we are going to have to break in that gift card soon at the new mall!!!!

    😉

    hehehe

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Jill says:

    I vote for summer school – in fact, we are giving a cash incentive for summer school! I just thought today, in 2 weeks I will lose my freedom – the kid and the friends will be here every day! I don’t worry as much when he is away at school.
    40 – where is the party? I better be invited!!! Welcome to the club! It is great, you actually don’t care if you go to the grocery store with no make-up on and sweats – who cares you are 40. LYMI

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  7. * SuZan says:

    OMG…Jill you crack me up!!!!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Sheri says:

    lol! Jill – no make up and sweats! Love it! Oh, and you WILL be invited. We have to bring 40 in right!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  9. * meritt says:

    You’re moving again……….

    That part jumped out at me.

    The prom thing?

    Yep.

    Two going to prom this year… the boy child (Freshman) and the Girl Child (Junior). I can’t WAIT for prom to be OVER.

    Now… back to that moving thing please!?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

