Celebrating Women for the Real World



Tickle Tuesday………….and a PSA

It’s not Monday; and it’s not Humpday; so it must be “Tickle Tuesday”.  Tickle Tuesday is our attempt to lighten your load and make your week a little brighter.  Here we have a few things you learn while living in Texas…….Enjoy!

Things I learned living in Texas

1. A possum is a flat animal that sleeps in the middle of the road.

2. There are 5,000 types of snakes and 4,998 of them live in Texas.

3. There are 10,000 types of spiders. All 10,000 of them live in Texas.

4. If it grows, it’ll stick ya. If it crawls, it’ll bite cha.

5. “Onced” and “Twiced” are words.

6. “Jaw-P?” means, “Did y’all go to the bathroom? (bwahahahaha)

7. People actually grow and eat okra.

8. “Fixinto” is one word.

9. There is no such thing as “lunch.” There is only dinner and then there is supper.

10. Iced tea is appropriate for all meals, and you start drinking it when you’re two. We do like a little tea with our sugar.

11. The word “jeet” is actually a phrase meaning, “Did you eat?”

12. “No. Jew?” is a common response to the question, “Did you bring any beer?”

13. You measure distance in minutes. (oh heck I do  this)

14. You switch from heat to A/C in the same day. (oh heck I do this too)

15. All the festivals across the state are named after a fruit, vegetable, grain, insect or animal.

16. You only own five spices: salt, pepper, Texas Pete, Tabasco and Ketchup.

17. The local papers cover national and international news on one page, but require 6 pages for local gossip and high school football.

18. You think that the first day of deer season is a national holiday.

19. You know all four seasons: Almost summer, summer, still summer, and Christmas. (so true)

20. Going to Wal-Mart is a favorite past time known as “goin’ Wal-Martin” or “off to Wally World.”

21. You describe the first cool snap (below 70 degrees) as good stew weather.

22. Fried catfish is the other white meat.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT………..WTF?

Have you seen the new children’s book that has hit the market?  I was floored by this and actually I thought it was a joke when I read it.

Florida plastic surgeon Michael Salzhauer is the author of My Beautiful Mommy, a book aimed at 4-to-7-year-old kids to help them understand plastic surgery.

Unfortunately it looks like it is a “sign of the times”.  Here is a couple of pages from the book for your literary enjoyment…

In this titillating scenario, the mother tells her daughter that she wants nose surgery to make her look prettier.  Notice how mommy is NOT watching the road as she is driving…hmmmmmm (oh wait, I guess she is at a stop light).

Then mommy goes on to explain that she can’t fit into her clothes anymore so she is going also have a tummy tuck so that she can feel better.

,

GEEZ LOUISE!  Anyone else see wrong in this???  Especially since self esteem is a real issue, what are we teaching our kids?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Missy says:

    OMG. That book, I just cannot believe it. That is just crazy. What happened to loving ourselves???

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * anita says:

    bwahahahaha! the seasons here in Maine are: “huntin”
    “ice fishin”, “mud”, and “black fly”, then there is a week of good swimming at the end of july before it all starts over again!!!!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Kat says:

    Those cracked my shit right up! I lurve me some okra!!!! 🙂 hahahahaha

    Um, does mommy teach daughter how to binge and purge and then obsess endlessly about looking pretty being more important than school and accepting our faults as something God gave us? I hope there is a chapter on college – how to get an Mrs. degree in 4 short years. Perhaps a chapter called, ‘diet pills. it’s what’s for dinner’… WTF???

    I’d rather see a book explaining it in terms of real reasons other than vanity, like, mommy has trouble breathing properly so she has to fix her nose and mommy is to lazy to go to the gym and refuses to eat properly so is taking the chance that she might DIE due to complications, because her waist size is more important than being her in with you and teaching you real values.

    Someone needs to take that book to the plastic surgeon and beat him over the head until he needs surgery of his own. GAH!

    I guess, I’m opposed to this and do think it’s worng. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Cheeky says:

    MMMMMMmmmmm Okra!!!! I can’t get that up here in the tundra –

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Moi says:

    I was floored when I read about that book a few days ago. Though, I must admit, I told the girls I was having surgery for my back (not a lie). My oldest asked why they had to go through my front for back surgery. Too smart, that one.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Sheri says:

    Laughing at Moi! She is a chip from the block I see!

    That book – it made me throw up in my mouth a little.

    Those phrases – “fixinto” isn’t a phrase? Hmmm……How about “rightquick”. Like, “I can do that rightquick”.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Tammy says:

    Yeah. What Kat said.

    Btw, the most dead possums in America? On I45 between Dallas and Houston. Ask Kami.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  8. * meritt says:

    My 17 year old asked me yesterday if I had heard of this book… which I had read about last week so I had. She is NOT happy! LOL. I love how strong she is in her opinions and her beliefs. 🙂

    As for the nose job I just smirked because she obviously has the ‘bump’ in her nose and that is what she is having fixed. So… knowing that certain ethnic groups are ‘known’ for the bump in their nose… is the doctor saying something about them being ugly?

    Hmmmm.

    Slam!

    I don’t know… I don’t care if people have plastic surgery really… their money, their body but I don’t believe in writing books promoting it to small children.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Jill says:

    #21 needs to include chili!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  10. * Michelle says:

    That list is dead on! Love it!

    OMG. The book is awful, but I don’t know what people DO tell their kids when they get plastic surgery. Hmm.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  11. * jdpolson says:

    Hi,

    I’m currently researching various weight loss programs and courses.

    So, if you don’t mind please answer in this topic: What’s your single most important question about weight loss?

    Cheers, JD

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

