Celebrating Women for the Real World



Stuff Portrait Friday…………….Heros!

 

SPFblue2

TGIF!  So glad it’s Friday! I was thrilled to find out that SPF is back!  SPF is brought to you by the teenager rearing Kristine.  For today’s assignment, Kristine wants to know “Who’s your hero? What is symbolic of a hero? What does Hero mean to you? What does it look like?”

I think that I am going to NOT try and be philosophical or witty and just adopt the KISS method (keep it simple stupid) on this one and just be literal.  This still is difficult because there are things in many people that I admire and respect; but here we go:

MY HEROS:

2322675807_553ec87d62

Meet Big G, my hubs. He is my hero for so many reasons. He fully supported me when I went back to school, and encouraged me every time I was ready to quit (often!). He reminded me that I was setting an example for our son and that I could do anything I put my mind to. He also has has found a love of the outdoors through scouting with our son, and in his mid 40’s he discovered that he really enjoyed rock climbing and rappelling. So he learned all he could and has gone through the training and is now a climbing instructor for all the boys in the Troop.

For his pursuit of what he loves and for always being there for me…..he is my hero!

Another Hero of mine is this Chica:

This is my best friend Sheri.  This woman is incredible.  Honestly she can fix breakfast, put on her make up, wipe a nose or two and balance your books all at the same time; and always with a smile on her face.  I don’t think I could have handled the situations that she has lived especially when she was was a single mom with three kids. 

She is amazing, smart, nurturing, and would give you the shirt off her back if it would help your situation.  She has been there for me when I need someone to vent to and when I want someone to celebrate with (because that’s what we do), she is always there armed with the best 2 point margaritas you will ever taste.

For her selflessness and caring…..she is my hero!

There are so many more heros in my life from my son, to my uncle, to my MIL, all for different reasons, but all very important to me.

So tell us…

Did you play?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sheri says:

    awe, shucks! Now see, I would have put your picture up there cause YOU are MY hero! Like Kat and I have said, we need shirts that say WWSS or WWSD (what would Suz say or What would Suz Do)

    Many, many heros in our lives. I’m thankful for each of them!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Just a girl says:

    It’s amazing how some people touch your life when they really have no idea how huge that impact can be.

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Angela says:

    Great posting! It’s amazing how so many people can be our heros in so many different ways.

    And thanks for agreeing that I’m not conceited! lol

    My link

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  4. That’s really cool that your husband went through all that to learn and teach rockclimbing. It’s something that’s always interested me.

    I played too.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Heather says:

    Sounds like you have two awesome best friends/heroes. Happy SPF! I played too! :]

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Kristine says:

    I’m happy that you have people IN your life that are your heroes. Especially a friend, someone who doesn’t HAVE to love us, but does anyway. Isn’t that just so cool?

    I’m glad you played!

    Send me suggestions for upcoming SPFs.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  7. * Kat says:

    Those are two great heroes!!!! And we definitely need to get some WWSD t-shirts, as you are a hero to many of us, including me. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  8. * Christie says:

    I didn’t play cause I was too lazy. But great post 😀

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  9. * ~Easy says:

    Very cool. I played

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  10. * meritt says:

    🙂 I knew who your hero’s would be! LOL.

    What is ironic to me is that I’ve been pondering this question for awhile now myself – before any blogs were asking about it and for no reason other than I found myself thinking about this a few months ago.

    I don’t know that I have a hero. I’m not sure I ever have!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  11. * Dawn says:

    Amazing how people touch our lives like that. Makes you wonder how many lives *we* touch — some in ways we don’t even realize. =)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

