Celebrating Women for the Real World



Tickle Tuesday!…..and other stuff

Since it’s not Monday; and it’s not Hump-day; it must be Tickle Tuesday!  Tickle Tuesday is our attempt to lighten your load and my your week a little brighter.  Kick back, relax, take another sip of coffee and…

Enjoy!

Subject: Memo Of the Day

            President George Bush said each one of us would get a $600.00
            tax rebate.
            Now, if we spend  that money at Wal-Mart, all the money will
            go to China, if we spend it on computers,
            Most of the money will go to Korea or India.
            If we spend it on gasoline it will all go to the
            Arabs……and none of these scenarios will help the American
            Economy.
            We need to keep that money here in America…..so the only way
            to keep that money here at home is to drink beer,
            Gamble, or spend it on prostitution. Currently it seems that
            these are the only businesses still left in the U.S.

            I’m Elliot Spitzer and I approve of this message.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

8 Weeks….count-down has started.  This is what we have left in the school year and the crunch has already started.  These last two months are going to be crazy!  I only have to deal with the craziness of working in the schools and getting ready for all the annual ARDS (which will be the majority of my kids), seeing all my kids and closing out the school year.  Sheri has her own brand of insanity with her daughter getting ready for prom and then graduating; not to mention moving her son back home for the summer and having out-of-town family come in for graduation.

Bear with us friends because it might get a little bumpy here.  We might need to do a little ranting. 

🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I read an article yesterday about a mother (reporter) that let her 9 year old son ride the subway home by himself in NY.  Of course, my knee jerk reaction is that the woman was insane.  The point she was trying to make, was that we are over protecting our children to the point where we are hindering them.  You can read about the article HERE

Like I previously stated, my knee jerk reaction was “oh hell no!”  But then I started thinking.  At nine, I was riding the subway, taking busses and taxis by myself, in a city of 25 million people.  As an adult, I can tell you that the dangers were the same then as they are now and because I was a kid, I didn’t think anything of it.  Was it just “luck”? Or has our access to information so abundant that it all gets sensationalized in the media?  My feelings are still the same (that knee jerk thing) I certainly would not have let my son do this at 9, but have we become an over-protective society? 

The million dollar question?… When do we cross the line from protecting our children, and over-protecting them to the point of keeping them dependent?

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * anita says:

    Up here in Maine this past winter an 11yr old responsible for starting the family wood stove every morning used kerosene, causing an explosion that severely burned him and his sister and killed another little boy. there was much question in the community over why a child was starting a wood stove. even the fire marshal said that there is nothing wrong with an 11yr old starting a wood stove if taught responsibly and that we have taken something important away from our children by not expecting them to take responsibility for chores, earn things they want and give to others. that said…I do also believe in evil and I think that the evil present in our world has increased with time. I also think that I am accountable for what I know and if I know that an action holds a high degree of risk I cannot, with good conscience take that risk with my child’s life. don’t think I’m a nut job but thats how I feel. I think the level of responsibility that mother gave that child went beyond what was reasonable and included factors her son had absolutely no control over…I would never let my 9 yr old do that…

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Tammy says:

    My son is 8. He’s not allowed to play in the front yard by himself. When I was 8, I would spend ALL DAY outside, out front, all by myself. I walked to the store (crossing a major road), rode my bike and went swimming during the summer. All by myself (well, I was often helped by friends, and older siblings).

    I don’t know what the difference is. Do we live in a different society? Or is it the same, but we hear about it more? I don’t know, but I don’t feel comfortable letting my son experience the same freedoms I did as a child. And I find that to be sad.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Kat says:

    Gah. Set us up with a happy joke and your busy schedule (um, when exactly in the next 8 weeks are ya’ll going to actually be available for a girly night??? Perhaps I should ask again in June? :P) and then WHAMO! Time to think seriously. 😛

    Okay, here goes: I think a lot of the increased need for protection is directly related to the increase in population, the decrease in time spent at home by parents and the lack of community closeness that once existed due to the increasing time that parents are required to be away at work. Sadly, it’s no longer an Ozzy and Harriet or Leave it to Beaver type world, where the pace is slow, everyone knows everyone, and communities are small and protected.

    Obviously, I’d have to expand on this theory in greater detail to truly make my point, but that would require sitting down with drinks, and ya’ll don’t seem to have any time for that… 😛 hahahaha

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Sheri says:

    OK, now you’ve done it. You’ve put my schedule in writing and I’m starting to have a panic attack! Gah! I’m ready for summer to end and it hasn’t even started yet! Don’t forget to add that in the midst of the craziness I’ll be looking for a house to move into and packing up the old.

    I’m tired.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  5. OK, first I wanted to mention not to start counting down school days this far out…I made that mistake my first year teaching and about DIED b/c it took SO long for the year to end.

    As for the protecting/over-protecting…I don’t have an answer. I wrote about the FL girl thing today…should the parents have made sure that the other girl’s parents were going to be home when she went there? She’s 16…can 16 year olds be trusted to be by themselves…in theory yes, but then again they aren’t expecting to be jumped by their FRIENDS. I don’t know sister, I don’t have an answer for this one. Damned if you do (they don’t learn for themselves), damned if you don’t (they get hurt, you feel guilty)…this parenting gig is a toughie.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

