Celebrating Women for the Real World



The Adventures of The Road Warriors…..Cont’d

Friday we left Tammy & NLF and headed back to the hotel.  Kat headed to bed.  We needed coffee.  SuZan got everything ready, plugged in the pot, and NOTHING!  We thought perhaps the outlet was bad and plugged it in elsewhere.  Still didn’t work.  At 1:30 a.m. we headed downstairs to the lobby, explained the problem and walked back up with a brand new maker.  (BTW, you WILL meet interesting people who are checking in at 1:30 a.m.)  We saved the coffee, set up the new maker, took the bubble wrap of the carafe, and it was CRACKED!  Back down we go, get ANOTHER carafe, (interesting people still there) head to the room, and……..SUCCESS!  Coffee never tasted so good!  It was SO good in fact, we made another pot!  Kat was a bit perplexed as to what had been going on at 1:30 a.m.  But not perplexed enough to get out of bed.  Little did she know, sleeping is bad when you are with me and SuZan. …………

We rearrange things and steal towels!  See, we had a suite.  In the suite was a desk chair and a sleeper sofa.  As I was walking the halls I saw a room being cleaned that was identical to ours.  The difference, they had a desk chair, a sleeper sofa, AND a wing back chair.  The housekeeper was in there cleaning and the room was obviously empty.  I came and got SuZan as she is the bilingual one of the bunch.  I had her ask the maid if we could have the chair.  I think she was so impressed with the fluidity of SuZan’s Spanish, not only did she give us the chair, she carried it back to the room for us.  As far as the towel stealing-we were too lazy to get out of the room long enough to have it cleaned.  We used all of the towels during our showering and primping.  I guess the mother in me (or maybe some Jewish connection) had this “Oh my God, we don’t have any towels” moment.  I walked out to the hall, saw the cart, didn’t see a person, and helped myself.  We were now safe from whatever might have attacked due to the lacking of towels!

Lists seem to help me stay focused while relaying the activities.  Here is a short list of things we learned Saturday:

1)       Kat can wake up for food but then go back to bed until noon

2)      Every time Kat goes to sleep, SuZan and I find a way to cause trouble

3)      We WILL rearrange a hotel room if necessary (See picture)

4)      Febreeze works

5)      In Dallas everything is “in two miles”

6)      If you ask TomTom where the nearest liquor store is then ask a Dallas native, go where the Dallas native tells you.  Scary!

7)      Sheri’s ass laughs

8)      Dave can make us guess the phrase “soda jerk” without using words

9)      Someone can fall asleep on the toilet at 4:30 a.m.

10)   If Kat consumes a suitcase and part of a carry-on at night then has to choose between sleep or food the next morning; sleep will win

11)   Sheri likes to drive in circles

Please come back tomorrow for the conclusion.  Some of the points above will make a bit more sense!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    Again, coffee? – to go to SLEEP?

    So.Very.Wrong.

    You have no idea just how comfy a toilet is at 4:30 am… 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Becky says:

    Yeah, I am with Kat on that one. I drink coffee to stay awake. When I drink it that late, I am up for forever.

    Soda Jerk, hahahahahaha. That was the BEST. NLF, he kills me.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Karen says:

    Y’all are nuts. I can drink coffee and go right off to sleep, too. Doesn’t phase me.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * meritt says:

    I can only laugh and laugh at how much you make it sound like Kat slept!!!! LOL.

    Too funny about the coffee. You worked HARD for that cup!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * anita says:

    if I drank that much I don’t think I would make it to the toilet much less fall asleep on it!!!!! heheheh!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Kami says:

    The image of “soda jerk” will never leave my mind. He’s just lucky he had help there, if you KWIM.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

