Celebrating Women for the Real World



Spring Break 08! Woo Hoo!

Hmmmm, do you think “Girls Gone Wild” will be calling?  Nope, me neither.  Anyway, we (me and my kids) had a brief escape to San Antonio.  We ate, and we, um, ate, and we, um, ate some more.  Yup, we had our share of food.  My trainer will be punishing me tomorrow.  Oh well, that’s OK.  It was SO worth it.

The kids and I headed to San Antonio in daughter’s new car.  Oh, see, I promised pics.  Here they are:

 

(She doesn’t look happy at all!)

Mom after a few margaritas.  Hey, it was a loooongggg trip with daughter driving!

Some people just don’t like to wake up in the morning!

We headed to Six Flags-Fiesta Texas

(College Kid deciding if mom can handle this ride)

I did it!

After that, I decided that the train was for me! 

Now the weekend is over and it’s back to reality for me. 

The funniest part of the whole weekend had to be when we went to dinner Friday night at a Mexican restaurant on the river.  First we waited FOREVER for drinks and chips.  Then we ordered Queso.  By the time the Queso came, the chips were gone.  By the time the chips were refilled, the queso was as hard as  rock.  We told the manager.  We got another bowl of queso which college kids refused to eat because he was sure someone spit in it.  So we all ordered mixed fajitas (chicken and beef).  They FINALLY brought our dinner.  They said “two mixed plates and one beef”.  We said, “No, all three mixed”.  The waitress turned around, grabbed a chunk of chicken off of son’s plate and threw it on daughter’s plate and said “OK, all three mixed.”  When we finally stopped laughing we called the manager over and explained what happened.  All of us were laughing so hard, we couldn’t talk.  The manager brought out two new plates of “mixed” fajitas.  We ate, then headed back to crash!

It’s with mix emotion that I end this weekend.  Mixed because I realize that this may be the last “family” vacation that the kids and I take together.  They are growing up and moving on with their life.  That makes me happy to know that I’ve raised kids that are entering into adult hood and sad that my kids are no longer kids!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * SuZan says:

    Woo Hoo! Such a good time!!!

    Love J’s new ride!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Kami says:

    Love the car!!! I also love the pic of the boys cuddling. How cute is that.

    And OMG on the service. HOLY!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * meritt says:

    I’m sure those drinks helped you see the humor in the less than stellar service you received. LOL.

    Oh – I mentioned the whole car thing to my husband this weekend about ‘what if Kat went with to buy a car and found something she could afford with her part time job…” and the word “co-sign” was mentioned, etc.

    Still a little too scary but we are pondering it!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Kat says:

    Awwww, look at those boys cuddling!!! So sweet! Also love how J will at least talk on the cell phone when tired… 🙂

    LOVE her new car!!!

    I can’t believe your waitress!!!! Sounds like you had the same one Tammy did! At least you could find it funny. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Katie says:

    Oh my goodness, that waitress sounds beyond horrid!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

