Celebrating Women for the Real World



Then and Now

If you read the post below, then you may have guessed that we may have been a tad bit “under the weather” yesterday.  Not bad, but not 100%.  When my head hit the pillow last night, I couldn’t figure out why I was so wiped out.  Then it hit me……..

Roll back the clock say 20 years.  A Friday night out with the girls until 2 a.m. after waking up at 4:30 a.m., working all day, and consuming adult beverages……..no prob.  Saturday would consist of waking at about 10, stumbling to the kitchen, thinking about coffee but choosing a diet coke, stumbling to the sofa, turning on a brainless TV show (you know, something that doesn’t require thought), putting pillow over head, falling back asleep until 12:00, brushing teeth so that you could go to McDonald’s drive thru, ordering a quarter pound-er and the biggest fries possible with a diet coke of course, consuming it, napping, showering, then preparing for another night of antics.

Now let’s look at the present, shall we?  By 11:00 on Friday, Suz and I were thinking about how good closing our eyes and sleeping would feel.  But someone who shall remain nameless was maybe a little tipsy and an absolute hoot.  She cracks my shit up.  We talked and laughed until about 1:00.  I got home at 1:30.  I chugged a water on my way up to bed.  I couldn’t sleep.  I read until 2.  Of course I now had to pee because of the water.  I toss and turn for another hour.  I finally fall asleep.  I wake at 8:00 to a whining dog who’s bladder is apparently smaller than mine.  Take dog out, make coffee cause there is no more diet coke.  Someone (me) forgot to get some when at the store.  Proceed to step in puddle of water leaking from fridge.  Wake son.  Take him to doctor.  Come home.  Consider napping but remember appointment with trainer at gym.  Consider quarter pound-er and fries but choose oatmeal, cause, well, yeah.  Get punished by trainer for 40 minutes (note to self, don’t ever indicate to trainer that you may have sinned slightly the night before).  Come home, shower.  Take daughter and son to look at car daughter is desperately saving to buy.  Test drive car.  At the insistence of sales person, test drive another.  (I still don’t like to ride with my daughter.  I think it’s a control thing).  Listen to why this car would be “the bomb” while trying to make my way to “Six Bucks” for coffee.  By this time, I deserve it.  Take kids bowling as promised.  Bowl two games.  Call hubs, agree to meet for dinner.  Eat.  Daughter and I go to target to get baby gifts (I’m a grandma again).  Buy too much.  Go to CVS, Kroger, and Walgreens to try to get son’s prescription filled.  All of them closed.  Get home.  Look at mail.  Change into jammies.  Crash! 

 Now THAT’s my idea of a great Saturday night!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kami says:

    Tammy and I were discussing this last night. We were wondering why we were tired at 10pm. Oldness.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Moi says:

    Why am I never invited to these things? I can stay up late. Honest!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Tammy says:

    Yes. Old.

    I am old. I hate it.

    But it sounds like you had a very productive, yet hungover, day.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Kat says:

    Hmmm, see I thought it was ya’ll that were being night owls…. nothing but nothing beats Whataburger taquitos at 1:30 am – drunk eating and all! I may have woken up with gravy in my hair. 😛 Of course, I woke up at noon, sat on the couch for 30 minutes then showered and went to a baby shower where I consumed more food than is ladylike… however, Sat night? I left the block party by 9 and was in bed before 11… so I guess I’m old too…dammit. 😛

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. * SuZan says:

    the best kind of Saturday night!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. It’s hell getting old but it beats the alternative.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

