Celebrating Women for the Real World



Morning Madness

Humpday was to be an ordinary day.  Wake up; roll out of bed; make my way to the kitchen and drink some liquid life that is coffee (the only way to orient me to person, place and time every morning).  I then grabbed some pop tarts (yes breakfast of champions) and put them in the toaster.

I started smelling something very strange and turn around and the toaster is on FIRE!  Yes, there were flames coming out of the toaster.  We all survived (except for a dish rag), the house was full of smoke not to mention the smell of an electrical fire that is just nasty.

Yes we had flames

The aftermath!

I guess the thing that horrified me is that was was planning to get a new toaster and was going to give this one to Sheri’s oldest son who is off at college. The thought that this could have happened to him sent a chill down my spine. Once a mom, always a mom and I have known this boy since he was 6 years old and he might as well be mine.

~~~shivers~~~

On a good note we did get a new one. G2’s request was to have four slots for toast. Here’s the new one, and hopefully safe one.

The new BAMF!

OMG…did I really just do a post on my toasters?!?!

Yes, I am officially in Stepford!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Karen says:

    We, too, have gone to the four slot toaster. And, just a couple of weeks ago we had a pop tart experience. The son put a couple in with the frosting on them. Sure enough, smoke starts billowing out and we couldn’t even get them out. I was near panic at the thoughts of fire. I told him never again with the toasting of the ones with the frosting on top!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Sheri says:

    LOL! No, you did NOT post about toasters, you posted about fire. Therefor, you are NOT in Stepford. See, it’s all in how you look at it.

    Girls – get ready for girls night at SuZan’s. In the morning, she can make us pop tarts!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Cheeky says:

    Ohhh shiny new toys …..

    I know the smell of burning in the house….On new years day with 1 degree temps we had all the windows open and fans blowing because manchild started a fire in the microwave…..

    OH and ummm stop by the blog I have something for you fabulous ladies!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Moi says:

    You posted about a devil toaster, which is sooooo not Stepford.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Kat says:

    I’m sorry, is it wrong that I was laughing picturing how that scene went down? I mean, since everyone is okay…. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Katie says:

    That is not a good way to start the morning.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  7. That is one sexy new toaster, mama!

    Congrats on the new guy and not burning the house down!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Kate says:

    that new toaster is Hawt. Love it. Wow the old one looks really hurt.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

