Celebrating Women for the Real World



MIA

Hey guys!  What’s up?  Sheri here.  I’ve been somewhat MIA this week.  What a week!  If you’ll remember last Friday’s post, I was really glad it was Friday and even more happy that my husband was coming home from his week long trip to Vegas to attend the CES.  He came home.  Then he had a stroke.  Yes, a stroke.  He is going to be 52 in a couple of weeks.  He’s home now and well on the way to recovery.  But I must say, this has been another VERY long week. 

Last week I pissed and moaned about how sick the boys were with the flu.  Hubs came home Friday and looked absolutely exhausted.  Saturday and Sunday he pretty much sat around as it seemed he was coming down with the flu.  Obviously he was coming down with something as once at the hospital, his blood work showed his white cell count was 3 times what it should be. 

I was kicking ass around the house all day on Sunday.  I boxed up the outdoor Christmas decorations and took those back to the storage unit.  Then I started on the inside.  May I say that it’s just insane how much crap I have as far as decorations?  In between all of that I was trying to do laundry, make healthy meals, etc., etc.  Needless to say, I didn’t bother showering that day as I was going to get pretty nasty.  Really, why waste water.  (Note to self-take shower everyday cause you may end up in the ER and people will look at you like you’re a homeless person). 

Around 8:30 I went to pick up my son.  We got home at 9:00.  As soon as I walked in, James called me from the living room.  That’s not good.  His voice sounded different.  I even heard a little panic in his voice.  When I saw him, I knew that something was wrong.  His color was grey, his eyes didn’t look right, and he had a sheen of sweat on his face.  He told me that his mouth was numb and that he had gotten really dizzy.  I asked if he thought he had a stroke and he said yes and told me to get him to a hospital.  He told me to call an ambulance but I thought I could get him to the hospital faster.  I did get him there quickly (5 minutes-don’t ask).  The only problem, the waiting room was a night mare.  Next time I will call the ambulance.  Not only could they have administered drugs in case of emergency, you also bypass that whole waiting room deal.  He would have been triaged in the abulance and admitted immediately.  I called SuZan on my way and she said she’d meet me there.  Thank God.  I couldn’t have made it through the first couple of hours without her. 

I’d like to add, my husband didn’t have a stroke from being sick.  He is a cardiac patient.  He had a triple bypass in 2001.  He is a Type 2 Diabetic.  He has high blood pressure.  All of these factors contributed to his stroke. 

The most frustrating part of the whole event was not knowing.  We didn’t find out any absolutes until Tuesday.  Almost 48 hours after he was admitted.  Once we knew what was going on and that he was not critical, we could focus on healing and what needed to be done to get him home.

We are home.  There will be a lot of changes in our routine and our diets.  Let me just say decaf in the morning?  Ugh!  He is on a shit ton of medicine.  We follow-up with several doctors in 4-6 weeks as that’s how long it takes for these meds to regulate.  He is taking insulin injections 3 times a day.  But he’s home, and he’s fine.  The effects of the stroke were very minimal.  Thank goodness I have the best OT in the world as my best friend. 

Before I sign off, I wanted to give a big THANK YOU to SuZan and her husband G.  They met me at the hospital.  They stayed with me.  SuZan was my ear when I needed one.  Then they brought us dinner and lots of good healthy foods when we got home.  Thanks guys!  I couldn’t have made it through without you! 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sheila says:

    OMG! Please know that all of you are in my thoughts and prayers. Wishing for a speedy revocery.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Kat says:

    I’m just so very glad everything is okay now and he’s home. 🙂 I think you need a vacation – you’ve had a really rotten couple of weeks! (((HUGS)))

    *it was actually reported on CNN yesterday after Glenn Beck had an ER issue, that just because you arrive in an ambulance, doesn’t always mean you’ll be admitted right away… let’s hope you don’t ever have to go back to an ER again, but it’s a helpful article:
    http://www.cnn.com/2008/HEALTH/01/15/ep.emergency.room/index.html?iref=newssearch

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Kelly says:

    Oh wow Sheri, I’m so sorry! I’m glad to hear he is recovering.

    OK, trying to make you laugh… I guess this means he gets off without reprimand for whatever amount he lost in Vegas, right? 😉

    Hugs and prayers for you both!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * traci says:

    Holy $%(#@! I’m glad he’s on the mend but how scary.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Karen says:

    Best wishes for a complete, speedy recovery to the hubs. Scary stuff. I’m his age and my hubby just turned 60. Don’t think that stuff isn’t in the back of my mind.

    You and SuZan are so lucky to have each other.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * meritt says:

    Oh Sheri – Wow! I’m sorry to hear about the stroke. I did however take note about the waiting room verses ambulance. I’ve never thought of that but will in the future if I ever need to!

    My FIL just had quadruple bypass surgery yesterday – my husband has been up there with him all week so I guess in a weird way I feel a connection to this post.

    Hugs to the both of you and ‘healing’ vibes to the hubby.

    Mer

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * SuZan says:

    You know we are there for all of you. You are family and we love you.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Katie says:

    Your family is in my thoughts. I hope your hubby has a speedy recovery.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Nancy says:

    Oh, Sheri,

    I’m glad your husband is recovering. That must have been a frightening thing to go through. I’m glad you had SuZan there to help you.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  10. * Shell says:

    I’m so sorry! That’s horrible! I’m glad it looks like everything will turn out for the best.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Tammy says:

    Poor you. I can NOT imagine.

    I’m glad he’s home and feeling better.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  12. * Cheeky says:

    Sweetie you have just had a rough go of 2008. Big hugs to you!

    I am glad to hear that hubs is home and going to recover. Keeping ya’ll in my prayers.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  13. I’m so glad that you were finally able to give us an update. I’ve been thinking about you guys…

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  14. * Christie says:

    omg
    *super big hugs*

    I hope everything gets better and that recovery is speedy and thorough

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

