Celebrating Women for the Real World



Top 10 Buzzwords of 2007

Here is a little fun for you to think about today.  I added part of the definitions because I was not familiar with all of these buzz words.  Guess I’m going to have to climb out from my rock a little more frequently. 

#10.Freegan

A combination of the words “free” and “vegan,” the term describes an anti-consumer who shuns mainstream materialism and only makes purchases as a last resort. The practice of freeganism involves Dumpster-diving for food, clothing or other essentials, which freegans refer to as “waste reclamation.”

#9. Vajayjay 

Well, it’s funny, foolish slang for “vagina.” The term, popularized in 2006 by Grey’s Anatomy and more recently by Oprah Winfrey.

#8.Bacn

Similar to Internet spam, this term covers news alerts and other email that individuals signed up to receive but may never get around to actually reading.

#7.Locavore

Another dictionary, a semi-green term. The New Oxford American Dictionary’s Word of the Year, this term refers to the trend of eating fresh, locally grown ingredients.

#6. Grass Station

As Webster New World Dictionary’s Word of the Year, the term does not describe an outpost for smoking marijuana, but rather a theoretical alternative to today’s fossil fuel–based gas station.

#5. Colbert Bump

 Similar to the Oprah effect on book sales, the boost in popularity ratings a political candidate gets after appearing on The Colbert Report.

#4. Popcorn Lung

A rare, life-threatening lung disease that can be caused by inhaling diacetyl, a chemical used in butter flavoring. It’s normally not a problem if a) you don’t work in a microwave-popcorn factory or b)you’re not Colorado resident Wayne Watson, who ate approximately two bags of microwave popcorn a day for 10 years and became the first-known consumer to develop the disease.

#3.Previvor

A person who does not have cancer, but has precancerous cells or a genetic mutation known to increase the risk of developing it: a pre-survivor.

#2. Surge

Influx of 20,000 U.S. troops to Iraq aimed at, among other things, quelling sectarian violence.

… and the #1 buzz word for 2007 was…

#1. Cougar

An older woman who romantically pursues younger men.  Woo Hoo!

I only knew #’s 1, 2, and 9.  So how many did you know?  Please tell me I’m not the only one in the dark.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tutu says:

    that is all I knew also but # 5 and 8 are pretty obvious once you see the definition

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Sheri says:

    I knew 1, 2, 9, & 10. I think they’re telling stories about #6.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Sheila says:

    Is it bad that I had only heard #1, and knew the definition by heart.. oh dear.. what does that say about me?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Cheeky says:

    You are not alone. I knew about half of these…..

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Moi says:

    I knew half. I’m not telling which half. I like to be mysterious.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Jill says:

    I only knew 1,2,4 and 5. Two, Four and five were from reading the paper… I think I need to branch out a little…

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  7. * anita says:

    well, I’m a dutz…I didn’t know any of them!! I heard #1 heard on a talk radio show the other day several times but I couldn’t figure out what they were talking about…
    guess I live a sheltered life:)!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  8. * Katie says:

    I didn’t even know half of them. Geez, I need to get out more!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  9. * Kat says:

    Well I knew 1, 2 and 9 mostly becuase there’s been a ‘surge’ of ‘cougars’ trying to get the men I am interested in, into their ‘vajayjay’s’. Just pissses me right off…

    heehee 😀

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Shell says:

    I knew about 10 because I saw a news report on it about a year ago. Those people really do go diving in grocery store dumpsters for food and that is just ICKY! And though I do try to recycle, buy organic and buy some things used I sure as heck won’t go that far.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  11. * Tammy says:

    I thank urbandictionary.com for teaching me most of them. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  12. * meritt says:

    I guess there was a little bit of room under that rock because I was right there with ya!~ LOL.

    I hope most of these words will die a quick death. Ha ha.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

