Celebrating Women for the Real World



Happy New Year

Happy New Year!  We hope everyone had a safe and happy one. 

I love the new year.  Yes, I am sad to see the holidays end.  But I look at the new year as a new beginning.  A set point to start something new. 

I thought about what I’d like to accomplish this year.  Some goals are short term, some are changes I’m hoping are long term and in the end will make me be a better person. 

Here’s my list:

  • I want to be more considerate of those around me and those I come in contact with.  I was going to say “I want to be a better wife, mother, friend, employee, neighbor, etc.”  But I think if I work on being considerate, everything else will fall into place.
  • I want to learn to accept the things I can not change and change those things I can and be smart enough to tell the difference between the two.
  • I want to strengthen my spirituality.  This is tricky because I don’t believe that you must be a “Holy Roller” to be spiritual.  I don’t think being spiritual means being in a church every time the doors are open.  I think each person’s spiritual life and beliefs are very personal.  I’m not sure how I will achieve this.  I’ll let you know.
  • I no longer want to be a “door mat”.  Occasionally I let people take advantage of me.  I want to be a stronger, more confident person.
  • I’m going to search long and hard and decide if staying with my current employer is right for me. 
  • I want to explore my talents, whatever that may be.  I feel like I just don’t contribute much to this world.  My sister writes, my brother paints and creates, I feel like I simply just exist.  When I was growing up I played cello, violin and piano.  I didn’t give 100% to learning and playing the instruments, but when I fell in love with a piece of music, I played it well.  Very well.  In fact, one teacher said she could always tell when I liked what I was playing because I made it come to life.  She could feel what I was playing.  I want to “feel” and make other people “feel” through music.  This may not be a realistic goal, but it’s a goal non-the-less.  I can at least take one step toward achieving this.  Even if I just find out how much it would cost to buy the instrument and then find a teacher brave enough to take me on.
  • I have a few emotional issues that I need to tackle.  There are a few emotional monsters in my life that I need to address and then figure out how to move on.  They really feel like hundred pound weights keeping me from truly being the person I want to be.  Nothing major and most likely things I’ll share with very few; but it has become very apparent to me that I need to deal with them.

That should do it.  I better get busy.  Some of those things are going to take a while.  Again, I hope everyone has a GREAT 08!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jill says:

    Happy New Year back at ya! What great goals! You are NEVER too old to follow a dream! I can’t wait to hear you play!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Kat says:

    I think your goals are excellent.

    I am considering taking drum lessons if only to get back at my noisy ass neighbors… 😉

    Have a GREAT New Year!!!! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Katie says:

    Great resolutions!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Cheeky says:

    Happy New Year! Those sound like tough but reasonable goals! Here’s to you!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

