Celebrating Women for the Real World



Wow…to have a leader like this! (in our dreams)

I received this email from my MIL and was just floored.  Not the shock of the content but because it was so refreshing of a read.  You see, I like many Americans are tired of all the people that are “offended” by our culture, our beliefs and our values.  These are the words of Prime Minister John Howard from Australia, but any American could say these same words:

Aussie Pride

Muslims who want to live under Islamic Sharia law were told on Wednesday to get out of Australia, as the government targeted radicals in a bid to head off potential terror attacks.

Separately, Howard angered some Australian Muslims on Wednesday by saying he supported spy agencies monitoring the nation’s mosques.  Quote:  ‘IMMIGRANTS, NOT AUSTRALIANS, MUST ADAPT.  Take it or leave it.  I am tired of this nation worrying about whether we are offending some individual or their culture.  Since the terrorist attacks on Bali, we have experienced a surge in patriotism by the majority of Australians.’

‘This culture has been developed over two centuries of struggles, trials and victories by millions of men and women who have sought freedom’.

‘We speak mainly ENGLISH, not Spanish, Lebanese, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, or any other language.  Therefore, if you wish to become part of our society.  Learn the language!’

‘Most Australians believe in God.  This is not some Christian, right wing, political push, but a fact, because Christian men and women, on Christian principles, founded this nation, and this is clearly documented.  It is certainly appropriate to display it on the walls of our schools.  If God offends you , then I suggest you consider another part of the world as your new home, because God is part of our culture.’

 ‘We will accept your beliefs, and will not question why.  All we ask is that you accept ours, and live in harmony and peaceful enjoyment with us.’

‘This is OUR COUNTRY, OUR LAND, and OUR LIFESTYLE, and we will allow you every opportunity to enjoy all this.  But once you are done complaining, whining, and griping about Our Flag, Our Pledge, Our Christian beliefs, or Our Way of Life, I highly encourage you take advantage of one other great Australian freedom, THE RIGHT TO LEAVE’.

‘If you aren’t happy here then LEAVE.  We didn’t force you to come here.  you asked to be here.  So accept the country YOU accepted.’

Can you just imagine a U.S. president having the guts to say these very words?  Bush; don’t think so.  Clinton; not in your wildest dreams.  Bush Sr.; no way.  Reagan; (maybe) but nope.  Carter; not a chance (etc. you get my drift).  What a breath of fresh air that would be (give me a moment I’m still grasping at this thought) if our leader simply stated “Enough”  and stopped spending millions to translate all of our federal/state documents into Spanish and Vietnamese.  Stopped allowing illegal aliens to NOT pay out of State tuition for the college of their choice, etc. 

You see, I lived in Mexico for eight years and guess what?  I learned the language, I attended Spanish speaking schools (holy cow, stand back, what a novel idea eh?) I respected the customs and complied with the laws.  Because of the effort I (and my parents) put forth to embrace a culture, to learn, has made me a much better person today.  Therefore, I don’t understand why people move here and expect us to accommodate them, how blind can you be?

(stepping off of my soap box now)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheeky says:

    I love this – unfortunately I am afraid the many Americans are so busy being PC they would never ever say this. Which is sad.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * sheri says:

    Oh, I’m so with ya girl! Don’t even get me started! Yes, you are welcome to come to this country, but don’t put it down while here and benefiting from the services you will get with our tax dollars.

    I’m sorry, but I think I have bigger balls than Bush.

    Wait, I think what I just wrote was funny. Bush, balls, Bwahahahahahaha. I blame it on the wine!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Karen says:

    John Howard is a terrific man and leader. Too bad he was just voted out of office. And the new leader? Liberal, pc, defeatist. His voting constiuancy will be shocked to learn he has backed off his global warming hype now that he’s found out how expensive it will be to his country. Loser.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  4. * christie says:

    I don’t care- people should have pride in their beliefs, but also I think people should (and they don’t) remember that they’re beliefs aren’t the only ones and their ways aren’t the only ways.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  5. * anita says:

    Amen! and well said!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Tammy says:

    A-Freaking-Men. I soooo wish our next leader would lay it down like that.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  7. * Sheila says:

    AMEN, Sista!!!

    If we had a leader such as that.. we would truly be the home of the FREE and the BRAVE! Imagine that??

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  8. * Meritt says:

    Looks like you have the majority vote here! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

