Celebrating Women for the Real World



Your Always On My Mind, Always On My Mind

Did that Willie Nelson song get stuck in your head?  Good, it’s been stuck in mine all morning.

Today’s post is about stuff that’s been on my mind.  You know, those things that you ponder but really do nothing about.  I guess you could call it a brain dump.  Yeah, that’s it. 

Oh, Happy Friday y’all.  In honor of Friday, I’ll give you a picture.  It seems when there’s pictures, blog posts are more interesting.  Here ya go:

Funny, no? 

Onto those “things” on my mind:

I’m not a cream in my coffee type person.  Damn it.  Those marketing people are smart.  At Christmas time they do an awesome job of marketing and displaying their flavored creamers.  Now cream in general, I can pass.  But flavored cream – YUM!  Today’s flavor is vanilla caramel.  Tomorrow, mint chocolate mocha.  At 35 calories a serving, I better slow down.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My husband goes to Starbucks EVERY DAY.  I don’t care, he makes good money, makes sure we’re provided for, and works via their Internet connection.  No biggy.  I love coffee made with fresh ground Starbucks coffee beans when at home.  He doesn’t.  When at home he likes Folgers.  Regular Folgers.  He’s disappointed when I make a pot of Starbucks.  I’m considering getting the one cup coffee maker from Sharper Image, or Brookstone.  I don’t remember which catalog, but I saw it.  When I open my cabinet and see my bag of beans sitting there helplessly, I feel like they’re calling out to me. 

Hmmmm.  Thinking more seriously about that one cup coffee maker.  Honey, if you’re reading this, that would make a GREAT Christmas present.  Of course, diamonds, diamonds are good presents too.  Love you honey!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I mentioned Christmas.  I celebrate Christmas.  I have a Christmas tree.  I put up Christmas decorations.  There is a lot of bru ha ha about certain stores calling their trees Holiday trees.  I think that’s stupid.  If you put up a tree, you most likely celebrate Christmas.  Here is my personal thought on the subject.  I call it a Christmas tree, you call it a holiday tree.  So what?  We live in America.  We have freedom of speech.  Should I get bent out of shape because a retailer has chosen to call an item that they sell a holiday tree?  I don’t think I should.  At the same time, should people get bent out of shape because I choose to call it a Christmas tree and not a Holiday tree?  I don’t think so either. 

If you notice, most retailers prefer their employees to say Happy Holidays.  That’s not offensive to me.  Really, Christians aren’t the only one celebrating holidays right now.  Happy Holidays covers it all.  In turn, since I do celebrate Christmas, should someone get bent out of shape because I wish them a Merry Christmas?  I don’t know.  There’s a blog I read frequently named “Dad Gone Mad“.  I love this blog.  I love his sense of humor and his writing style.  He is Jewish.  He wrote a blurb about his personal feelings regarding something that happened to him.  Stop right there.  I’m not putting him down.  He has a right to his feelings and his reactions.  My question to you is, if it were you and you celebrated Christmas and the other party wished you Happy Hanukkah, would you have been offended?  I think my response would have been Merry Christmas.  Not in a mean way.  More in a way of – “Isn’t this a great country we live in where we can each have our own beliefs and religions and celebrate our holidays and STILL get along?”  Does that make sense.  Does it make sense now why retailers are saying Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas?  It does to me.

On another note, why does an entire grade school class have to refrain from anything Christmas or Holiday related because one student, ONE, doesn’t believe?  I don’t think that’s right.  I’m not saying that everything has to be Christmas based.  In my mind it’s school.  School is a place we go to learn.  The majority of the students celebrate Christmas.  To include others, could they do Hanukkah crafts?  Or Kwanzaa (I have no clue how to spell that)?  Isn’t that learning?  Along those same lines, many holiday crafts are created to work on fine motor skills.  It’s a win, win situation!

Personal feeling here folks on our personal blog.  Remember the sandbox rules – be nice, use your words, but don’t slander the writer or the commenters.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One of my daughter’s friends was killed in a head-on collision last week.  She was 17.  Very sad.  My daughter went to the funeral.  I just can’t imagine having to bury a child.  My daughter said she had younger twin brothers (six years old).  The parents not only have to morn the loss of their daughter, they have young kids that don’t understand.  Those kids expect Christmas.  So.very.sad.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  Wow, that was depressing.  I guess my point in posting that was to ask my dear Internets to keep the Ratliff family in your thoughts and prayers. 

Also, remember to slow down, always say I love you, don’t ever leave angry.  If you can’t agree, at least agree to disagree, give a hug and a kiss, and tell your loved ones what they mean to you.  Do this daily.

Your friends – send them an email.  Say “hey, thinking of you.”  That means a lot.  Even when I get forwarded funnies, I know that person who sent it was thinking of me.  That means a lot.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Finally – (I know you’re glad) – See that blog roll over there?  Yeah, y’all aren’t updating your blogs!  Your blogs are like a phone call, I can catch up with you guys and know what’s going on.  Jeez, could you help an addition?

That is all!

LYMI

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * celebratingwomen says:

    Addiction – that last word was supposed to be ADDICTION, not addition.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * christie says:

    I don’t celebrate *Christ*mas- but don’t care if people say christmas or wish me merry christmas, etc.

    I call it a christmas tree and such. But I do buy cards that say Happy Holidays or something. I don’t buy *christ*mas cards.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. * Scottie says:

    That cartoon was hilarous. I laughed out loud in my office and everyone looked me like I was crazy!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  4. * Moi says:

    Gah! I am working on a post with all the horrible previous homeowner pics. Cut a bitch some slack, would ya? It will be up soon. I promise.

    Thinking of you. Love you.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  5. * Tammy says:

    I hate the “holiday” crap. It’s friggin Christmas. Or Hannakah. Whatever you celebrate. Call it what it is. Damn

    I’m so sorry to hear about your daughter’s friend. That’s awful.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  6. * anita says:

    Dito on the “holidays”…we do celebrate “christ”mas but can’t imagine being offended by anothers well wish regardless of the holiday. what a lot of folks lose sight of in this sue happy, “tolerant”, new age world we live in is that being offended is a CHOICE. you really have no control over anything anyone else says or does…the one thing you do have control over is your own attitude…life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it!!!!
    Merry Christmas everyone!!!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  7. * Sheila says:

    I am in Germany now and the call it CHRISTMAS. When I said something about a Holiday party they looked at me like I had 2 heads (shaddup!).

    We celebrate Christmas for a reason and I always chose to leave my ‘christ’ in Christmas.

    Now, I am only praying that lighting does not strike me down!

    LYMI

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  8. * Moi says:

    post is done. i rushed, just for you. 😉

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  9. * Kami says:

    So sad about that poor kid. Damn.

    I just wish people wouldn’t get so worked up about stuff like Cmas, and Holidays. They are words. KWIM? Say what you want to me, just don’t tell me to eff off as I pay at Target, thankyouverymuch. 😉 People are celebrating different things right now, and some are celebrating nothing, so yeah, “holidays” covers it, but most trees are Christmas trees, as far as I know. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  10. * Carrie says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your daughters friend. how horrible. 😦

    I think people need to pull the candy cane out of their ass and just enjoy the season and all the respective holidays. I can see someone just as easily getting offended if someone said Happy Chanukah and they don’t celebrate it and then thinking the other person thinks they look like some stereotype. Just get over it.

    Happy RamaChanaQwanzMas already. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  11. * Katie says:

    My thoughts are with your daughter & all those affected by this terrible loss.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  12. * Shell says:

    It’s a freakin’ holiday people. No one is getting sacrificed. No one is excluded. Participate if you want.

    My new job is weird. We get notices in our email of all kinds of holidays since we’re an international corporation.
    About two weeks ago they sent us an email saying it was Diwali time and everyone should come try some Indian treats. We don’t have anyone from India in our office. I guess it’s part of their trying to be a diverse company. BTW…the treats were horrible.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  13. * Meritt says:

    I love when en employee has the balls to wish me a Merry Christmas instead of “happy holiday’ – I feel like they are a little rebellious, just like me. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

