Celebrating Women for the Real World



Our Poor Teachers……And An Open Letter of Two

Please make sure you tell the teachers and administrators at your children’s school THANK YOU!  They have a tough job for little pay.  Most teachers spend their own personal time taking care of things they no longer have time to do while “on the clock” due to administrative stuff that the Federal/State government requires.  In other words, if our teachers didn’t spend their own time thinking and preparing for their students, the students wouldn’t be taught.  However, they will fully know how to take the TAKS test.  (That’s the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills test our state mandates to meet Federal guidelines).  I’m sorry, I love our schools, but really, the only thing the kids seem to learn is how to effectively take a test.  Problem solving skills – NOPE!  Critical thinking – well, unless it’s how to make an educated guess on the TAKS – NOPE! 

Also, with the cameras in the schools and teachers so worried about being sued, kids are getting in trouble constantly for things that are perceived.  Example, a child pats a girl on the head.  A teacher sees this out of the corner of her eye and assumes that the girl’s hair was pulled.  The video would make it seem that the girl’s hair was pulled.  When they FINALLY asked the girl, she said no, it wasn’t pulled, he patted my head.  Six administrators and two teachers, two class periods wasted watching video when all they had to do was go ask the other party.  Could this be part of the frustration of our teachers?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Onto the Open Letters:

Dear Doctor:

I love you.  I do.  You made me better.  Will you be my friend? 

Love you!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Dryer:

I turned my head when you started to take two hours to dry one load of laundry.  Four hours?  Excessive, no?  My husband says to fix you.  I wonder if he called the Maytag repair man.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Christmas Tree:

Your standing.  That’s exciting considering last week at this time you were still in your box in the garage.  But really, could you please decorate yourself?

Oh, and you boxes that need to go back up to the attic – could you just walk yourselves up there?  Please?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

That should do it for today.  Thanks for checking in.  We love you.  Really.  Oh, one other thing.  Our site meter-it says 300 of you visit daily, but only seven of you left comments?  Come on now, please let us know if we made you laugh today.  Please?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jill says:

    YEAH you fell better!!!!!!!!!!!! At least you have the decorations out of the attic – my decorations are still in the attic waiting to magically float down and the Christmas elves put everything out…that’s how it works right. Just like the toilet paper fairy and the toothpaste fairy and the grocery fairy (who by the way is on strike at my house…that frig is getting really bare!)…have a great day! y’all make me smile

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Moi says:

    I comment all the time, honest. Also, I may be as many as 5 of those 300 visitors. Just sayin’.

    So glad you feel better.

    Send the hubs a “to do” list. I think that will definitely help.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * SuZan says:

    LMAO! Do my comments count?

    🙂

    Just sayin’

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Tammy says:

    You’re not going to get Kami started on the TAKS testing thing are you?

    Glad you are feeling better YAY!

    I sure wish my house would clean itself. Perhaps I should write it an open letter!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Cheeky says:

    YAY! for good docs! Glad you are feeling better! Don’t get me started on teachers. The manchild has a wonderful one this year – and I am so giving her the “hook-up” for Christmas – yes I am!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. * anita says:

    so glad you’re feeling better!!! here in Maine its the MEA’s and our kids lose 3 days of school every year to take them…don’t get me started!!!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. * traci says:

    Well I stop by every other day or so but don’t comment every other day or so…nothing worth sayin’ most times!

    We have the WASL here in Washington and well…my teacher friends hate it. They’ve revamped their entire curriculums to make sure their kids pass this damn test! Such a waste of time and money.

    Glad you’re feeling better.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  8. * Lori says:

    I sure hear ya on the teacher stuff. So much time wasted on administrivia, etc. One of the only downsides I see for my daughter pursuing that career.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  9. * Sherry says:

    I read your blog while I’m at work……….It keeps me from going insane. I usually do not comment but you are definately one of my favorites…….

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  10. * Sheri says:

    Yeah! Some new commentors. Love it! Welcome. Glad you visit. Even gladder that you come back! Woo Hoo!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  11. * Jennie says:

    I’ve been visiting your awesome blog for a few months now & I’m embarrased to say I’ve never left a comment. Sorry!
    I LOVE your Tickle Tuesday posts. They never fail to make me giggle.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  12. * Aimee says:

    Don’t even get me started on those dumb standardized tests. I even had a student, in 2002, KILL HIMSELF the night before the test because he didn’t want to take it… WTF!

    And people wonder why I wont go back to teaching.

    You are doing better than me, haven’t bought a tree yet. Maybe this weekend.

    There… 1 more comment… I read yall every day on GoogleReader… where comments go to die.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  13. * Kami says:

    I HATTTTTEEEEEEEEE standardized tests.

    Here’s my open letter:

    Well crap. Never mind.

    🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  14. * Karen says:

    More often than not I enjoy a laugh here. Glad you are feeling better. However, this is not the week to get me started on teachers. Just sayin’.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  15. * Missy says:

    Hello, My name is Missy and I lurk here daily. You two are quite funny and give me my daily shot of laughter. Here in Michigan we have the MEAP test, which is bull*%$#. Also in our school district we have something called Trailblazers math which is the stupidest shit I have every heard of. They teach shit called bits and skinny’s and don’t teach multiplication facts and then all of a sudden in fifth grade they need to know their multiplication facts. Hello people, what the fark! I know if Mr. Trailblazer math dude ever shows his face around this town I will surely clock him one. Ooookay, enough for my first post, hey?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  16. * Carrie says:

    I’m glad to hear the doctor made you feel better!!! It’s about dang time! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  17. * Scottie says:

    Sorry, I read you at work also, but don’t comment. I am a lurker. 😦 I’ll try and do better 😉 I do enjoy reading ya!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  18. * Nancy says:

    I don’t miss the TAKS and the TEKS at all at all, at all!

    I love tutoring though. It’s the first opportunity I’ve had to just purely TEACH in about yeaaaaaaars.

    Hey, anyone want a job as a math tutor? We need one that can teach middle school to highschool/SAT math.

    Please?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

