Celebrating Women for the Real World



Manic Monday!

What the heck happened?!?  It is already Thanksgiving week!  This school year is just blowing by.  Unfortunately thanks to our dear legislators, we no longer have off the week of Thanksgiving off and I have to work through Wednesday.  I do have my home health patients scheduled so I’ll be off Thursday and Friday.  I look forward to the Christmas explosion in my living-room this weekend.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I had to laugh when I was looking through The Sharper Image catalog this weekend.  Last page of the catalog and it reads:

Gifts for the men you look up to…

and THIS is what they were advertising:

Sharper Image Turbo-Groomer COBALT

The Turbo-Groomer Cobalt Lighted Nose-Hair Trimmer. Big G told me it wasn’t that darn funny, but I had a good laugh anyway.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So is everyone ready for Thanksgiving?  Fortunately I’m only responsible for green beans and dressing.  My grandmother taught me how to make her dressing and Big G’s family loves it and always request that I make it.  I made enough dressing for an army this weekend (it freezes well) and the beans I’ll snap and cook Wednesday night.  Do you have any special traditions for Thanksgiving?  What is your special dish that you make?  Let us know in the comments.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * novelist10 says:

    I agree! This year has flown to the holidays. I blinked and I missed Halloween. “Turbo-Groomer…Lighted? Nose Hair Trimmer? Lmao 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Moi says:

    Lighted for the Insomniac Groomer? Who knows!

    I am the best cook in my family (not bragging, it’s da troof). We are having dinner this year at my sister’s house, but I am bringing a Spinach Artichoke Pastry Puff appetizer (so easy and freezes well), the stuffing, the rolls (they are sooo yummy), the green bean casserole, Mr. Man’s grandma’s noodles (addictive), and the pumpkin pie (technically C*ostco may take care of that this year … if they do, I will make a chocolate cream pie).

    At least I don’t have to cook the turkey …

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Nancy says:

    Turbo-Groomer Cobalt Lighted Nose-Hair Trimmer.

    I beg to differ with your husband. It is TOO that funny. I had to read that a few times with blinks in between just to fathom it…

    We do broccoli with a cream cheese/shrimp sauce…topped with toasted almonds. It’s not so much the broccoli that we like, I think you’d eat cardboard with this sauce.

    Recipe:

    1 can Campbells Creme of Shrimp soup
    1 8 oz container of cream cheese with Chives (or vegetable, your choice, but should be one of the savory flavors)
    The juice from one fist sized lemon.
    Enough toasted almonds (I toast’m in the microwave with a little butter), to sprinkle over the broccoli and sauce. Make extra almonds..they’re addictive.

    Directions:
    dump the soup in a sauce pot …medium heat.
    dump the cream cheese in.
    stir a lot until the two are pretty much melted together.
    dump in the juice from the lemon. Add more if the sauce seems thick, or you taste it and want more.

    Cook the broccoli—We’ve used frozen and it’s not as good, but not bad either.

    Put the hot broccoli into a retangular cake dish (glass is best here…) any cassorole dish would do that can hold whatever amount you make.

    Dump the sauce over the broccoli… semi-evenly, sprinkle the top with the toasted nuts.

    Now, put the whole dish into a 350 degree oven (or what ever temp your oven is while you’re trying to cook Thanksgiving dinner… it can handle a variation of heat.)

    Let bake until sauce is bubbling again…

    Beat off your relatives until you get at least one big serving. This is one dish we almost never have left over.

    :0)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  4. * christie says:

    ohhh Thanksgiving already??

    *thud*

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  5. * meritt says:

    You know one of our Thanksgiving traditions cuz you guys have been my blogger friends for a couple years now. I’m going to post about it on the blog – you know… our CHARLIE BROWN THANKSGIVING! 🙂

    We do the whole Charlie Brown Thanksgiving at noon – complete with pretzels, toast, popcorn, sundae’s… and we all watch the Charlie Brown Thanksgiving special on DVD and their CB Mayflower special too. Then we will play board games and such until the traditional Thanksgiving Dinner around 5:00 – 6:00 ish.

    I love our tradition of the Charlie Brown Thanksgiving even though it gets a good laugh from most people. The kids tell me they can’t wait to bring their boyfriends and girl friends home from college for our family Thanksgivings. LOL.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  6. * palofmine says:

    Im doing a few appetizers!

    Happy Monday! I just posted Manic Monday – RELISH Meme!

    Come stop by my blog!

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Katie says:

    That is quite the trimmer.

    We don’t have any. Other than eating ourselves stupid. Turkey coma hits about 4.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Cheeky says:

    No big traditions – we make it up as we go along and if we like it – we keep it. We are sorta fly by the seat of our pants like that!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Sheri says:

    Ah, traditions. Growing up, everyone came to our house every year and ate, and ate, and ate. My mom was the best cook! The best! (She owned a restaraunt for a reason). She died 20 years ago on November 4th, right before Thanksgiving. I tried to carry on the tradition. I can’t cook. Well, not as good as she can. Then I got a divorce which causes even more turmoil at holiday time. Then I remarried. My mother-in-law can cook. Again I had to adjust as there were no if’s, and’s, or but’s, we were going to his parents house. This left me no option of spending time with my family. I felt empty because, darn it, I’m supposed to work myself ragged and cook, cook, cook. This year, I finally let that go. I’m making some easy things to take to mother-in-law’s. I’m going to sleep in then make a good breakfast for my kids before they go their respective ways. I’m going to drink coffee and watch the parade. I’m going to mother-in-laws. I’m going to visit my family later. Since all the kids are driving, we’ll all end up at my cousin’s. I’m so lucky. I’ll have the best of both worlds. Good food, good fun, and good company.

    I wonder now that my kids are dating and eventually will sprout off and start their own families, how much will this tradition change?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Tammy says:

    Dude. You have a bunch of books written here!

    Okay, the nose trimmer ad IS funny!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  11. Still not that damn funny.

    G and I are starting a new tradition, see recipe: TurDucken

    Take a duck and shove it up the ass of a turkey.
    Next take a chicken and shove it up the ass of the duck.
    Next take stuffing and shove up the ass of the chicken.
    Arrange all six legs as desired. Throw it on the grill and cook the hell out of it. When first case of Shiner Bock is gone, open another since the TurDucken may still be cookin.
    Eat when done, drink more beer and watch lots of football.
    Happy Thanksgiving

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  12. * Sheri says:

    Hmmmm. G, I think I like your tradition. Can I come? Oh, and the nose hair trimmer – I laughed and am even considering purchasing it. It’s.That.Funny!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  13. * Speckledpup says:

    I am alone on Thanksgiving so I do not have to cook anything.
    However, I’m attending a gathering on Friday evening where I have been instructed to “bring those weenies” and your dip.

    That would be my little smokies wrapped in bacon, baked with brown sugar on top and good old spinach/dill dip with a couple loaves of rye bread for dipping.

    I can cook…I just don’t do it often.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  14. * Sheila says:

    Ok. That personal groomer looks painful.. I vote you get him one as a joke… tell him he can use it for his ears when he gets old!

    Yeah, my parents are coming to my house for Thanksgiving.. I will need some Xanax before this is all over.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  15. * Jill says:

    Am I the only odd one who finds the humor of “for the men you look UP too”..hence the need for a powerful nose trimmer.
    Our tradition – we alternate between my mom and my aunt who both cook VERY good. My cousin has taken over for my aunt and I tried to take over for my mom but no one in my family wants to drive to “houston”…so my sister-in-law usually takes over.
    I am responsible for rolls (they have to be the frozen yeast rolls) and candied yams.
    My kid stops by on his way to his dad’s. Luckily we all are in the same area except me. I have the same question…what happens when he gets a wife??
    You guys are a great blessing!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  16. * Carrie says:

    Big G always cracks me up! Fran and him would get along so great with their like-minded thinking on turkey day! 😛

    I think the nose trimmer is hillarious, mostly because I know of a few perfect candidates. 😛

    My Thanksgiving tradition? Show up hungry at my sister’s house, play with the kids, eat until I burst, then veg on the couch watching whatever movie they got while the baby sleeps. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

