Celebrating Women for the Real World



A Quiet Friday Evening

A quiet Friday evening was the plan.  G2 was coaching and then off to watch his old HS football team, so hubs said he wanted to take me to dinner.  When we want fajitas we go to this “mom & pop” restaurant outside our neighborhood.  We get there, we order, and drinks arrive…and then, the phone rings.  It’s G2, “where are y’all”.  He told me he was coming right over and then told me he might need stitches.  They just served our drinks (and yes that rita was beckoning me).  I leave Big G there (because the food is on the way) and run home. 

Football Injury (Before)

Apparently, he was coaching the 5th graders and working with the O-line. Well, a kid got him with his helmet right in the mouth. The irony is that G2 played football for 8 years and we NEVER had a trip to the hospital; but now that he was a coach…it’s off to the ER.

We stopped off at the restaurant and Big G had ordered his second beer and that rita was still just staring at me…sigh…so not fair.  They package up the food and we were off.  Of course, being the good mom that I am, I had to tell G2 when he asked if it was going to hurt, that the stitches wouldn’t hurt a bit, but the Novocain shots were brutal.  But no, in the ER they said that they could just glue the lip back.  The kid I swear leads a charmed life!

 

Football Injury (After)

So no shots, no Novocain, no stitches. They just glued the lip back together, I didn’t know they could do that. Hopefully the rest of the weekend will be a bit more peaceful.

Oh and you guessed it, I’m back down to zero on the “no complaint” count.

***EDITED TO ADD***

…..and no….I did not get my rita.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Carrie says:

    Okay, it cracks me up that while you were rushing around tending to G2 – Big G was on his 2nd beer – bwahahahahahaha

    I had no clue glue was so useful!

    That kid of yours cracks me up. 😛

    did you ever get a margarita?????

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Cheeky says:

    I say – go back and get double ritas!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Sheila says:

    Yeah, that looks like it was worth at least 3 ritas….

    Hope the lip heals really quickly.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Kami says:

    You so need that rita now. So not fair.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  5. * meritt says:

    That margarita is still there tonight… waiting for you. 🙂

    I knew they could glue them but thus far my kids (nor I) had the kind and ‘place’ where it could be glued. Leave it to us to get hurt in odd bends and places where they have to use the stitches… ouch!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Tammy says:

    Rub some dirt on it.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

